Missing Running

It’s Sunday morning and it’s been 3 days since I’ve been able to run and I’m actually missing it. I’m not one who really likes to run, I just do it, as the Nike people say. I miss that feeling of accomplishment, like I’ve actually done something for the day, like I mowed the yard, went to Jazzercise and ran 5 miles, no, none of that, I got up, made coffee and washed a load of clothes, just doesn’t sound the same without the “oh yeah, I ran x number of miles too”.

My ankle is very, very purple today, starting from my first toe, not my big piggy, all the way over, back to my heel and then to the inside of my ankle is pretty much gross and purple, and up the outside of my calf about 5 inches too. The swelling is down a little today, I can at least see my ankle bone today. I’m hoping I can do a light run on Tuesday or Wednesday. Keeping my fingers crossed. I’m afraid if I don’t run soon, I’ll get out of the habit and then my running buddies, Kim and Annette are leaving on Friday for Chicago, lucky girls, to run the Chicago Marathon, first one for both of them, I’m very excited for both of them, wish I was going…. So, I must run, I must run, I feel like a slug. I’m even thinking about going bike riding with White Bread, it’s probably been a year since I’ve done that! I need to keep my cardio up somehow.

3 Responses

  1. Cheryl… I really miss running with you!! I don’t know what, why but it just seems like I have better runs when we run together. I hope you ankle heals really fast, because I need you out there running with me.
    We haven’t talked a lot about Memphis but my plan is to run the whole thing with you. I just think it’s so much more fun to run with someone else.

  2. We haven’t talked about Memphis, but I’m looking forward to it! I need to learn how to post it on the side like Arland does, like a count down sort of thing for the races I have planned. I mentioned Carlisle to LeAnn, she is thinking about it. And you don’t have to run with me the entire time in Memphis, you are much faster than I am, I’ll only slow you down silly!

  3. Hang in there with the foot! That description sounds like it is painful. Take it easy and let it heal.

Leave a Reply

