Hating Wal-Mart

I’m working from home today and if you know me and you know where I live, you know they are building the dreaded Wal-Mart Supercenter in my backyard.  They (the devil Wal-Mart) bought all this residential land and had it re-zoned Commercial and now, oh boy, how exciting for me and the neighbors, we get to listen and reap the rewards of construction, utility workers, trucks turning around in your cul-de-sac every 15 minutes.  We also get to see workers standing around doing nothing, I’ve never seen anything like it.  I stuck my head over my privacy fence and asked some workers how long they were going to be there? “oh months, we’re digging a new line”, how long does it really take to dig a new line?

Oh, by the way, have I mentioned I hate Wal-mart yet?  This will be the third store to open in our city of 25,000 and how many of those stores are still open?  you guessed it, zero.  So, why let the devil open another one?  Sales tax and money in the pockets of the city I would guess.  Another thing that pisses me off, at the City Council meeting the Wal-Mart representative touted “Environmentally friendly” store, what the hell was she talking about?  they cut down EVERY tree on the property they bought, EVERY tree, and to keep the dust down they have these water trucks that fill up at the fire hydrant and spray the ground constantly, wasting 1000’s of gallons of water a day.
What kills me is that everyone shops at Wal-Mart, do you know anyone that doesn’t?  I have friends who LOVE Wal-Mart, but that’s okay, I try and not berate them too much, they ask me, “where do you buy your cleaning supplies, etc.?”  my answer? anywhere but Wal-Mart.

One Response

  1. Guilty…… You know I hate Wal-Mart too, I just consider it a necessary evil. I have been shopping a lot more at Kroger lately so I’m feeling a little less wal-mart guilt.

    Wal-Mart… I wish I could quit you 😉

Leave a Reply

