Swimming Lesson

Since I can’t run and that’s really bumming me out and my friend Annette is always looking out for me, she suggested we take swimming lessons. Yes, I know, I should already know how to swim, but I don’t, I have to hold my nose closed so that takes away from my swimming abilities. Anyway, there is a group in Cabot where Annette lives who decided to all take swimming lessons and they got this great deal at the community center, so I’m in.

Last night after Jazzercise, Kim and I changed clothes and headed over, I was reluctant to start last night since I will be out of town for the next two weeks, Seattle then Dallas, and I still had my makeup on and didn’t want black crap running down my face either. But, needless to say I was talked into dunking my head underwater, oh almost forgot about the swim cap or rubber head thing, got one of those too, very cute. Which for some unknown reason didn’t work cause my ponytail was dripping wet when I took it off, is there a secret to putting those rubbers on? If you are going to wear one it should do it’s duty!

Kim and I were put with an instructor all by ourselves because apparently we were the ONLY two out of about 12 of us who didn’t know how to dunk our heads under the water without the nose holding. It only took us 10 minutes to master that skill, YEA for us! And then it was off to gliding, without pinching our noses again! I felt like a 5 year old, the instructor was great, she would hold us up in places I wouldn’t touch and was very patient, not sure of her name, something like Oxer, she was of Asian decent, we really had to concentrate on what she was saying, but I really did like her. By the end of the hour we could glide and kick with our heads face down in the water. Did I mention I felt like a kid? By the time I got home I was all tuckered out, slept like a baby.

I remember my mom taking me to the Y when I was around 10 years old or so and it was traumatic, nothing like what we did last night. The thing that sticks in my memory from that horrible swimming experience is standing on the edge of the pool at the deep end and the instructor telling me to jump in, I was scared to death, I couldn’t breathe, I was shaking, I wanted my Mama! I did jump in, hated it, begged to never go back and didn’t.

Leave a Reply

