Saturday Marathon Training

Since all my regular running buddies are off at the Tulsa Route 66 Marathon or 1/2 Marathon I was on my own for running today. I called LeAnn, my neighbor and running buddy too, but she can’t get out and run as much as she would like, but she wanted to run this morning and was to meet me between 5:30 and 5:40 am to run with the Little Rock Marathon Training Group at the Arts Center.

I woke up around 4:15 and couldn’t go back to sleep. The LR Marathon Group does two different trainings on Saturday mornings, one for 1/2 marathon people and one for full marathon folks. Today the 1/2 marathoners were doing 6 miles and the full were doing 12. I wanted to do 9 miles, so my thoughts were to do the 6 with LeAnn and then add on 1.5 out and back, pie in the sky ideas again. I had already talked to LeAnn about it and this was our plan. Well, I didn’t have to worry about it because no LeAnn, I waited until 5:41 and then had to leave.

I really do enjoy running with this group, there are SO many people there it’s like a small race. Thank goodness it was not as cold this morning as yesterday, it was about 48 degrees this morning, no frost. I was still dressed warmly compared to a lot of the folks there. I’m guessing there were over 100 people there, lots in shorts, brave souls. We actually sign in when we get there and cross off our names when we get back, get a copy of the route, whether 6 or 12 miles and then Tom (the leader) gives out any special instructions. We were off promptly at 6:00 am.

My first mile was pretty slow, I met up with a girl a little past the first mile and we ran and talked a bit, then she started slowing down and I met up with another girl, Mary, who I ran with the remainder of the 6 miles. Wow, the difference it makes having someone next to you, we live in the same town (Sherwood), so we are really close to one another and I hope I can run with her again. She is only running the 1/2 marathon, but I’m sure we will meet up again. The miles really did go by pretty fast, the first 6 anyway. We did stop in the River Market for a restroom break, I knew I had 3 more miles once we got back to the Arts Center which was only 1 mile away. We kept a steady pace and made it back within 1 hour, not really, because I forgot to turn my Garmin back on after we left the restroom so we missed about a 1/4 of a mile.

After Mary and I exchanged email addresses it was time for the dreaded out and back for 1 and 1/2 miles. I decided to head back toward the River Market, I was thinking I might feel a little safer going that way. Once I got to about mile 7 my stomach said NO, DAMN IT, it has been a great day so far, what the hell, so I had to walk probably a 1/4 of a mile to the River Market, go to the bathroom and then finish my run. I ran down to the President Clinton Library, looped through there and then back toward the Arts Center. I ended up with 8.3 miles, that includes the 1/4 mile I missed earlier. I felt pretty good when I was finished. I could have done the 9, but I just wanted to stop, so I did. Here is how it played out –

8.3 miles 1:28:11 10:57 average pace 804 calories burned

  • Mile 1 11:30
  • Mile 2 10:56
  • Mile 3 11:21
  • Mile 4 10:42
  • Mile 5 10:43
  • Mile 6 10:41
  • Mile 7 10:47
  • Mile 8 11:00
  • Mile .3 10:00
One Response

  1. Great run, Cheryl! I am impressed!

    Tulsa was FABULOUS!!!

Leave a Reply

