Back to Training

We make choices in life and my choice is to run, I don’t really love running, but it’s a choice I’ve made so I can live longer, stay healthy, enjoy being with my friends that run, meet new people that run and of course the most important reason to run, eat chocolate. I do wish I loved to run, but I don’t think it’s in me to love it. It’s just my exercise program and I have to do it if I want to eat AND stay slim and trim.

Last night was my regular Tuesday night running clinic, I had to drag my ass out of the house and make myself go, the entire time I was getting ready I was trying to come up with an excuse not to go. My toes hurt, I have a headache, I’m still recovering from the half marathon, can’t find my gloves, blah, blah, blah, get your fat ass out of the house and GO!!!

Once I arrived at the Cabot High School and got moving I was okay, well sort of, our workout was to be as follows: 1 – 1 1/2 mile warm-up, 3 x Strides, 2 x 800, 2 x 1000, 3-4 Strides. We normally do not run at the track and personally I don’t like running at the track unless it’s just a couple of miles, no I’m lying I don’t like them at all, can you say BORING, but then again running at night is getting boring, you can’t see a thing but the pavement, and I constantly worry I’m going to sprain my ankle on something I can’t see.

Okay, back to the workout. Kelly, Annette and I started out together with our warm-up run, Kelly had shoe problems (new inserts), and we lost her somewhere on the dark track, and then Annette and I both had to use the bathroom at mile 1. I ended up with 1.25 mile warm-up and then the strides, etc. Somewhere along the way I lost Kelly and Annette until the last 1000 meter run and then Kelly and I ran together for the last 1000, we were both ready for the monotony to be over, round and round she goes, where she stops nobody knows.

We did not do the final strides we opted for a slow jog around the track. I ended up with 4 miles total at an average pace of 10:17, which just happens to be what I needed for my Little Rock Marathon training, which I am trying to get back on track. That means 14 miles on Saturday morning, I’m not sure I can do 14 miles again this Saturday, I’ll give it my best shot though, it’s an out and back course so we’ll see when we get to mile 5 or 6 how I’m feeling. I think Kim and Annette are coming along too. I haven’t checked the forecast, but you can bet it won’t be warm!

Check this out, it’s by C.F. Payne and it’s titled Choices. Funny huh?
choices.jpg

2 Responses

  1. Great post Cheryl everyday we all make decisions that impact our lives either physically or mentally. I am so thankful that you choose to run even though you really don’t like it. I have always admired your workout ethic and your willpower when it comes to food. I wish I could be more like you!

    I did like the fact that we didnt’ have to worry about uneven road surfaces when we were running last night… I think it helped make us run faster.

  2. I love the cartoon! I think I will post it at my workspace. 🙂

    Great run for someone who didn’t really want to be there!

Leave a Reply

