Sick and no Running

Here I am in Sunny Boca Raton, Florida where the high today will be 81 and I’m sick as a dog!  I arrived yesterday afternoon around 1pm and headed straight to the drugstore for more Kleenex, meds and Sucrets.  The plane ride was miserable, I thought my ear drums would explode and I’m sure the people around me were not very happy with this sick person blowing snot constantly. 

After my trip to the drugstore it was over to Panera Bread for a piping hot bowl of Chicken Noodle soup and a cookie, I thought that might make me feel a little better, and it did for about 30 minutes, then I was ready for bed.  Unfortunately I had to come to the corporate office to make my appearance and look all chipper, well, I didn’t look all chipper, my nose was raw and red, eyes watery, throat was on fire and still is.  I only had to stay until 5 and then I went over to Boneheads for a small Greek Salad and peel and eat shrimp to go and FINALLY to my hotel. 

Once I got checked in and up to my room it was freezing, they had the thermostat on 65, I cranked up the heat, I know it’s 80 outside, and munched on my shrimp and salad.  I didn’t even feel like putting my pj’s on.  I got a pillow and blanket and laid down on the couch and watched TV, I fell asleep about 7 woke up at 8:30, called Glenn, got my face washed, more meds, and in bed.  Oh yes, turned off the heat and air on.  I woke up in a sweat at some point and turned the air down more, still hot.  I never could get the temperature right. 

I thought about getting up and running this morning, but there was no way, I feel like crap.  My throat is killing me, and I’m very tired, just want to go back to bed.  I’m at work now, have no idea what I’m supposed to be doing and since they’ve left me alone, I thought I’d get a quick post in. 

At this point I’m not sure if I’ll get any runs in this week.  I wish I could get some antibiotics or something, just hope to feel better by tomorrow.  I have plans to meet the Boca Road Runners tomorrow night for a 5 mile run.  I also need to get some Christmas shopping done.  I hate this freaking head cold!  I never get sick.  Never say never.

3 Responses

  1. Aww Cheryl I’m sorry to hear you are sick(er)!! Too bad you aren’t able to enjoy the florida weather.

  2. Yep, that’s really crappy you’re sick! If only we could will you better instantly 🙂 I’ve really missed you not being here to run w/me. My i-pod doesn’t keep the same good company you do!! I’ll miss you until my return on 31 Dec. Get some rest so you’re good and ready to train when I get back!

  3. Poor Cheryl. I sympathize. I now have one, too. On top of the periodontic procedure I had on Monday!

Leave a Reply

