Back Home

I’m back from my business trip to Boca Raton and back to my marathon training.

Couple of notes about my trip to Boca – Weather perfect for me, lows 70, highs 80.  I met up with the Boca Raton Road Runners on Wednesday night at the corner of A1A and Palmetto Park Road.  They were all really nice and there was actually a 2.5 mile trail (paved) that we ran on.  Everyone was already buddied up, but I kept talking to people and found 1 girl who I will probably run with again.  I only was able to run 3.5 miles, my cold was getting the best of me, but the weather, once again, Perfect.

I had to pay $6.50 for a small box of tampons at the hotel gift shop, what’s a girl to do in a time of need?  Fork over the 6.50, that’s what she does.  Outrageous.  The tampons at the gas station were cheaper for the same ones.  Yes, I bought them at the gas station too.

Okay, that’s all I have to say about Florida for now, other than I’ll be going back the second week in January.

Yesterday was to be a 14 mile run with the Little Rock Marathon training group, when I went to bed Friday night it had already started raining.  I was kind of hoping it would continue since our route this week was on Rahling Road in Little Rock, HUGE hills.   Annette had called and said if I got rained out we could run on Sunday at the River Trail even though it was going to be colder.  When my alarm did go off at 4:45 on Saturday it was still pouring, alarm off, but couldn’t go back to sleep.  I had a pile of cats on the bed and one little Georgie who wanted some breakfast, I got up about 5:30, fed cats, unpacked my suitcase, did some other crap and decided to do some shopping in the rain.

I didn’t accomplish much on my shopping trip, one gift bought for Stephanie, then on the couch catching up on some TV shows with Georgie and a blanket.  I did get some clothes washed, bed made, mail sorted, floor swept and about half the shit off the bar.

Annette and I decided to meet at 11:30 at my house and then head to the River Trail today for 12 miles, it was very cold this morning when I went to the grocery store around 8 am there was ice in places on the road.  Annette called around 11 and said Brenda was meeting us too, so we were going to meet at 12 at the Skate Park.  Annette and I  down graded our 12 miles to around 8, since my cold this week and other factors.  Good thing.

Brenda was waiting on us when we got to the Skate Park, we started running almost immediately just to warm up, the wind hit us right in the face, I’m guessing it was blowing around 10-15 mph, luckily it would be pushing us on the way back, or that’s what Brenda kept telling us :).  The temperature when we started was 39, but with the wind it felt much colder.  My pace was very slow, my chest felt like it was in a vise grip and I would have to stop to catch my breath quite often.  Brenda and Annette were great, it was a tough 8 miles for me, but I’m glad it’s done.   Hopefully I can get back in training mode this week.  We didn’t see many people on the River Trail today, not like we normally do, you can certainly tell the weather has gotten colder.  Here are my laps, slow but better than not doing them at all –

  • Mile 1     10:41
  • Mile 2     11:49
  • Mile 3     11:49
  • Mile 4     11:30
  • Mile 5     11:30
  • Mile 6     11:13
  • Mile 7     11:50
  • Mile 8     11:00

Then it was off to Starbuck’s for a steaming hot cup of Pumpkin Spice Latte.

Tomorrow I have a court date in Faulkner County for the speeding ticket I got back in November, I have no idea what to expect.  This is the first speeding ticket I have ever gotten, can you believe that?

One Response

  1. So very consistent!!!

    Hotels gouge us poor victims. Yuck!

    It was so so so cold and windy out there today. Not my favorite.

Leave a Reply

