Rocky in kitty heaven 1-21-2008

Glenn just called me, he found Rocky dead under our bed.  Poor kitty, he was still not eating this weekend and Glenn was going to take him back to the Vet tomorrow.  I’m really sad, I love my cats and I’m really going to miss Rocky, even though he was scared of his own shadow and was not a lap cat, but he was a sweet cat, skittish, but sweet.  He would occasionally sit right beside me on the couch or lay beside me in bed, but hardly ever sit in my lap. 

Rocky was a rescued kitty, in July of 2002 I was walking to my car on my way to work and out of the corner of my eye I saw something laying by the side of the street.  I walked over and it was a kitten, I thought it was already dead, but when I touched it with my shoe it moved.  I went in the house and got a box and put the kitten in the box and took it straight to the vet’s office in Lonoke, it had some blood around it’s mouth and was not moving much.  I didn’t want to keep the kitten, I was just doing the right thing, but the vet wouldn’t look at the kitty unless I was going to “take care of it”.  Of course I would, what was I going to say, no?  I called later in the day and they said he was fine, just in shock, they weren’t sure what had happened to him, probably thrown out of a car or mistreated and tossed aside.  His right leg had nerve damage, he always hobbled a bit, but he learned to use it pretty good.

So, that’s the story of how I came to be Rocky’s mom and now he’s gone.  I just feel so sad that I’m not home to pet him and tell him how much I’ll miss him.  He was in my closet this morning laying on a blanket, his hideout of choice since he’s been sick this last week, I was worried he wasn’t drinking any water so I sat in the floor and he licked some water off my fingers.  I rubbed him and told him I loved him before I left, but I never thought he was going to die today.  He was purring away like he always does when he’s petted, such a sweet kitty. 

It just won’t be the same when I get home on Friday, I told Glenn yesterday, what if the reason Georgie came into our lives was because we were going to lose Rocky?  I really thought that and that’s exactly what happened.  He laughed at me when I said it yesterday, but I was serious.  I should have called the vet yesterday and taken him in myself, maybe he could have given him something, maybe not, now I’ll never know.  Poor Rocky, I hope he didn’t feel bad or suffer, poor kitty.  Glenn said Rocky had a good life and he did, but it was so short, barely over 5 years, he will be missed.

rocky1.jpg

7 Responses

  1. Cheryl, I am so sad to read about your cat. I know you love your cats and he was a lucky cat you have found you. Hope your week in New York goes better and look forward to running with you soon.

  2. Cheryl I am so sorry!! I know how much Rocky meant to you! You were a good mom to him!
    Love ya!
    Annette

  3. I’m so sorry. I know that Rocky is no longer suffering. Your love for that kitty was always very obvious!

  4. Cheryl,

    I am so sorry for your loss. I am a HUGE animal lover like you and know how I would feel if I were to lose my Mossi (my Golden Retriever). It is even harder because you are away. Take care.

    Brenda

  5. Oh Cheryl, so sorry to hear this. Kitty heaven must have been ready for him, but I know you weren’t ready to let him go. I’ll be thinking of ya.

  6. Poor kitty.

  7. I really enjoyed reading this post.Thank you.

Leave a Reply

