Monkey off my back – over the 16 mile hump

Well today was the day, I finally made it over the 16 mile hump in my long marathon training, after several weeks of 16 mile runs I finally got that monkey off my back and did a little over 18 miles today. Thanks to all my running buddies, Annette, Michele and Kelly.

Annette had the gang loaded up in her vehicle when she picked me up at my house at 5:30 am this morning, headed to Maumelle to run with the Little Rock Marathon training group. The scheduled route was only 14, but we planned to add on here and there to get in 16 or 18. I really was doubting we would get that many in, but we got lost, or thought we did and got more than enough.

It’s funny how we just finished running a few hours ago, and I can’t remember all of it, there are certain parts that stick out, like this very long section on Odom Drive, that’s where we thought we were lost and it didn’t help that this old man was standing in the middle of the path saying I think I’m lost, so we thought we had missed our turn. The old guy stopped a vehicle and got directions down to a populated area, so that’s the way went, unfortunately it was up a huge hill or two, but it did get us into civilization. We made our way over to the EZ Mart so we could use the bathroom and get our bearings, we lost the old man, thank goodness, the snot coming out of his nose was really bothering me, gross.

The cute guy at the EZ Mart was very friendly, saying how can you be lost in Maumelle? and how can you run 18 miles in Maumelle, it’s only 7 miles end to end? 🙂 But, he showed us a map so Michele and I figured it out, we should have never gotten off of Odom, which meant we had to go back up those nasty hills again. This is where I forgot to turn my Garmin back on, I was pissed, my longest run to date and I forgot to turn it back on for 2 miles, so I only have stats for 16.07 miles, but I SWEAR, we did run over 18.

Other parts of the run that I remember was my leg hurting the first 2 miles or so, I was beginning to wonder if I was going to be able to make it, but I took 2 ibuprofen and it did get better around mile 3, but started hurting again around mile 12. It’s not terribly bad right now, which is surprising, I guess tomorrow will tell.

We did pretty good on our nutrition starting at about mile 4, one thing for sure, I do not like Tri-Berry GU, I ate half, and then gagged, the rest of the run consisted of Luna Moons, 1 peanut butter cracker (thanks Annette) and 4 sports beans, plus 30 ounces of water.

The whole run was filled with sections of Maumelle I had never seen before and of course I had the girls there to keep me entertained, it would not have been nearly as good without them. Even Kelly’s stomach problems made it interesting, just scoping out bathrooms and port-a-potties gave us something to think about and do. But, there were some very long roads that I thought would never end, but of course they did.

Another part of the run that was memorable was when I decided I didn’t want to run anymore, this happens to me sometimes, I was getting tired and the long stretches we were running, ARRGGG, they were really boring at the end, I’m thinking it was about mile 15-16. I kept going, but I didn’t want to, I was getting hungry and I wanted a Diet Coke, we had talked about stopping at Sonic on the way out to grab one, and it was on my mind.

And then when we went to the Nursing Home, I almost forgot about that, we were running down Maumelle Blvd. and Kelly’s stomach had been bothering her for about the last 10 miles of the run. She had to go and it was the closest place, so we went to the Nursing Home, Kelly buzzed the front door, they let her in and we ran in the parking lot until she came out. So….just in case you need a pit stop, Nursing Homes.

We ended up back at our halfway point at Odom and Club Manor, Michele and Annette had run pretty far ahead of me and Kelly, I sat down at this big light pole to wait on Kelly hoping that Annette and Michele went to get the car, I didn’t see them for awhile, and then, there they were, we all started walking back and Kelly’s stomach started acting up again. We started scoping for a port-a-potty, we were still a mile out, but had finished our 18, we saw one, but it was in an active construction zone and posted “Hard Hat Area”, I thought we might get run out of there, so we saw Quy’s Spa, so Kelly and I ran in there while Annette and Michele ran to get the car. While Kelly went to the restroom I had to go outside I thought I was going to vomit, my shoulder blade started acting up, so I sat down on the curb and waited for the nausea to pass. In just a couple of minutes there was Annette, Thank Goodness!

We all loaded in her vehicle and headed to Sonic for the most delicious Diet Coke and then to Boulevard Bread in the River Market for Coffee and a bite to eat. We met some of the Cabot Cruisers there who had done other routes this morning. There was a lot of chatter about running and congrats for finishing the 20 miles (Lisa F) and 18 miles.

It was a pretty good run today, just hoping my leg holds out for 4 more weeks. I need to remember to take both Ibuprofen and Tylenol with me so I can continue the doping next week for our 20 miler. That really seems to help, I also kept one of those heat patches on my thigh, I think that helps too, especially when it’s cold.

Here are the stats for only 16.07 miles, since I forgot to turn on my Garmin for 2 whole miles. But, Michele had her’s on, so I’m CERTAIN I got my 18 in about 3:40.

18:07 miles 11:57 avg pace 1459 calories Avg HR 158 Max 176

  1. 10:58
  2. 11:33
  3. 11:27
  4. 11:37
  5. 12:09
  6. 11:24
  7. 11:10
  8. 11:25
  9. 11:50
  10. 13:30 (not sure, big hill?)
  11. 11:45
  12. unknown
  13. unknown
  14. 12:39
  15. 12:49
  16. 11:49
  17. 11:50
  18. 13:00
3 Responses

  1. Congrats, Cheryl!!!! Way to go!

  2. I love Diet Coke from Sonic!!!! Think it’s the ice that makes it so good.

  3. Cheryl, I am so proud of you! You did it! Also, thanks for hanging with me during the “rough” times of the run. Pamper that leg this week so you will be ready for 20 this weekend. Congrats again.

Leave a Reply

