Marathon Madness – 3 days to go

Actually it’s 4 days 1 hour 37 minutes and some odd seconds, but by the time most of you read this, 3 days, xx hours, you get the drift. I’ve started making my list of things I’ll need to have or need to buy, I guess that means it’s official, I’m running a Marathon!! The Little Rock Marathon!! I’m excited and scared all at the same time, I’ve been reading other runner’s first marathon blogs, most are pretty great, so that has really gotten me more excited than scared. The forecast has been revised again, now the low on Sunday morning is about 49 and the high for the day a whopping 70, Brenda will not be happy, and still a 30% chance of rain. Of course this is Arkansas and it will change everyday. I’m not going to decide what to wear until the night before the race.

A little bit of enlightenment, Anti-inflammatory drugs, if you have ever read this blog you know that I have been plagued by this hip/leg/groin pain since January, well yesterday I went into my medicine cabinet and found a bottle of Voltaren, anti-inflammatory, I took only one with food, just to see how my leg would feel, OMG, my leg felt better than it’s felt in a while! Maybe it was all in my head, maybe not, but this morning my leg is hurting again, so as soon as I eat some oatmeal, down the hatch another pill goes, round two of drug testing. I’m not running today, but my leg hurts just walking. I’m also going to speak to my Ortho doc about it today when I go in for my steroid shot in my foot. Ouch. Yes, I know drugs are bad, but if they can get me through this marathon pain free, well bring them on!!!

Last night was our Tuesday Night Flyer’s Running Clinic in Cabot, we were scheduled to meet at the High School track, most everyone was doing a 1 mile time trial, not me, so I was just planning on doing my 3 mile run and watching everyone, and maybe pushing them to go faster too! But, when we got to the High School they were having some sort of sporting event, so Plan B, Dennis pointed us across the street to the Community Center.

Darn, I hate Plan B’s, I didn’t want to even go to the clinic, it was about 40 degrees outside and the wind was blowing about 20-25 mph, it was FREEZING!! I’m pretty sick of the wind and cold, I had called Annette and she was not in a very good mood either, she said the same, sick of the wind, it just sucks the energy right out of you. But, we got our unhappy running butts over to the community center as Dennis instructed.

I had bought some throw away gloves at Target ( .37 for a pack of 2) and was trying to give them away to the girls before we got started when Raquel said she needed to use the bathroom, so we ran inside the Center very quickly, when we came out everyone, huge group, had started running, great, missed something I’m sure. We stopped at the corner and Dennis was telling us where the loop was, okay, so everyone took off again. I was in the back of the pack, Annette and Bailey ran with me for a little while, the front of the pack was blocking the wind! After the first loop everyone pretty much spread out, Annette was still in front of me, but we weren’t running together anymore.

We made two loops and then the entire group was at the starting point, Dennis was giving new instructions, well apparently I had missed the original instructions that we were doing a WARM-UP run, okay, take a peek at my first mile, okay, see, not quite at warm-up pace, you can see my dismay. Anyway, we were now supposed to run some weird 3 x 1, 2 x 1, 3 x 1, at Lactate Pace, I could not get it, I was running with Kelly, not the original Kelly, new Kelly (Josh’s wife), and she didn’t understand it either. We just took off running and had to stop and ask Arland, Bailey and Annette what we were supposed to do, they explained, 1 minute at Lactate Pace 3 times, recover after each one minute, 2 minutes at Lactate pace 1 time, recover, and then 1 minute at Lactate Pace 3 times again, I think. That’s what we did anyway. Kelly is a bit faster than me, but it was nice to have someone to talk to during our recovery sections. Once everyone was through we talked for just a bit, it was just too damned cold, gotta get warm, so I headed out. Oh, and my leg felt really good during the run, I was really amazed.

My stats are below, notice the first mile, fast, the rest slower because of the recovery times between each one minute run. I only ran 2.70 miles, really needed 3, oh well, like I said, too COLD!!

2.70 miles Avg pace 10:48 Avg HR 155 Max 177 Calories 242 Fastest Pace: 7:37

  1. 10:16
  2. 10:51
  3. 11:29
2 Responses

  1. I’m very excited for you, and can’t wait to read you after the Marathon! Call your doc on those meds, though.

    Keep going!

  2. Oh Cheryl – it’ll be here before ya know it! Read my account from last year in my blog archives. To this day it even motivates ME and makes me emotional — to this day!

    Oh I wish I could run! I have been having dreams about it.

Leave a Reply

