Little Rock Marathon Countdown – 2 days

Anxious, that’s a good word for what I’m feeling, very anxious is more like it. Two days plus some hours and seconds until I’ll be running the streets of Little Rock for my first marathon. I just checked the forecast for Sunday – Sunday: A slight chance of showers between 10am and noon, then a chance of showers and thunderstorms, mainly after 4pm. Mostly cloudy, with a high near 69. South wind around 15 mph. Chance of precipitation is 30%. This poses a couple of issues – wearing something I haven’t been wearing all winter and it’s going to be freaking windy. again.

I’m not really sure that I want to wear shorts, I might have my mother bring shorts and then I could change into them? has anyone done that? She will be at about mile 16 around 11:30 so that would be when it’s warming up and close to a water station where there are port-a-potties. Or maybe I could wear them under my running pants and I could just take them off and hand them off to her if I’m too hot. ARGGG!! This week is driving me bonkers!!

Okay, you might have read I was given a shot in my foot yesterday, I can add this to one of those lists “You might be a runner if….. You subject yourself to a shot in the arch of your foot just to run a damned marathon” The other things I didn’t mention yesterday were – I tried to talk to my doctor about my hip/leg problem, he blew me off and I almost passed out after getting the shot in my foot, got that sweaty, nauseated, light headed if I stand up I’m going to fall over feeling. The nurse had to get a wet towel and fan me for 10 minutes before I could sit up. I’m a big baby.

My foot was partially numb for most of the night, this morning it’s a little sore, which they told me it would be, they said ice it, stretch it, but it would be perfect for race day. I keep calling it race day, but by no means will I be racing anyone.

I want to finish before 2pm, that’s my goal, one of the local TV stations FOX 16 is filming the finish line until 2pm and of course I want to see how dead tired I look when I do cross the finish. I can watch it over and over again 🙂 Also they start closing down stuff at 2:30 and I don’t want to be dragging ass in at 2:30. So, yesterday in my email I received a confirmation for the marathon with my bib number 551, so my goal time? 5:51 fitting huh?, that’s like a 13:30 average pace, I can do that, right? Anxious, very anxious.

I didn’t run yesterday, but tonight is our Women Can Run Clinic in North Little Rock, I want to run about 3 miles, easy. The only other run I plan before the marathon may be a very easy 2 mile run, maybe, maybe not. The expo starts tomorrow and I have tons of things to do to get ready for race day. Anxious, very anxious. Thanks Amy for giving me that word!

3 Responses

  1. Take the day before the race to relax. Anything you do that day can only harm you, not help you. If this is your first marathon, be sure to enjoy it.

  2. You are soooo ready!

    Wear shorts, my friend. You won’t regret it.

  3. I love the expo give yourself a time limit for walking around and take a bottle of water for drinking while you are there.

    Enjoy every moment.

Leave a Reply

