Little Rock Marathon Countdown – 46 hours

The countdown to my first marathon continues, except now it’s not days, it’s hours!!!  I’m sleeping good, but getting fat!!  I weighed this morning and I’m up about 3 pounds from my normal weight and if you know me, I no likey weight gain!  But, not stressing over it, not cutting back, I’ll be back to my normal weight as soon as it warms up outside.

Here is the new forecast for the marathon – Sunday: A 40 percent chance of showers and thunderstorms, mainly after 1pm. Mostly cloudy, with a high near 67. South wind between 10 and 15 mph. New rainfall amounts of less than a tenth of an inch, except higher amounts possible in thunderstorms.  Temperature dropped a bit, but the chance of rain increased and the wind is STILL there!!  Hate the wind, and I’m certain, without a doubt that I will be running into the wind when I’m running UP Kavanaugh for 2 miles!

The second night of our Women Can Run Clinic was last night, my foot was sore and bruised!!  When I got there they informed us our Leader was sick, BUMMER!!  We had a sub, who was very pushy!  She wanted us to run a slow lap then do a 2 mile tempo run, Kim had already run 17 miles prior to the clinic, she was doing her long run today since she has drill this weekend, she is a machine!!  So we picked up the pace a bit after our warm-up, our Sub was right there “this should be comfortably hard”, boy was it!!  Kim was pretty tired after her 17 miles and my arch was pretty tender, but got warmed up.

Kim and I got left behind, fine by us, and ended up doing 3 miles.  Rounded out her 20 for the day and got the 3 I wanted.  We did 1 cool down lap, I can’t even remember if we stretched and then left.

When we were leaving we tried to count how many women were out on the track, we think about 100, but less than were there on Monday.  Still a nice group.  I know in our advanced group there were only 4, whereas on Monday there were 7.  I hope Dianne (leader) was just cautious and did not have the flu, she is supposed to run the Marathon on Sunday!!

3 miles     Avg pace 10:03 YIPPEE!!    Calories 277  Left my heart rate strap off

  1. 10:21
  2. 10:04
  3. 9:43  Look at that would ya!!  Drugs are my friends!

Today is the start of the Expo for the Little Rock Marathon, I’m meeting Kim at Lakewood for an easy 2 mile jog at 12:30, then we are headed to the River Market and Convention Center!!  So excited about getting my bib number, I will be official!!  Tomorrow will be an easy day, watching the kids run around 11am and then to the expo again with my Cabot running buddies.  Then SUNDAY the big day, I’m just so glad my foot and leg are feeling better, well my leg anyway.

4 Responses

  1. Cheryl,

    I am so glad you are joining us Saturday for the kids run, expo and lunch. I am planning on carbo loading at lunch (late lunch) and then having oatmeal for dinner and probably oatmeal again for breakfast Sunday.

    See you tomorrow.
    Brenda

  2. You are almost there girl! Just remember one thing, “keep moving forward”, even if its walking. Don’t worry about the weight, you will be glad you had it come about 20 miles Sunday.
    You are going to do great!!

  3. You are almost there girl! Just remember one thing, “keep moving forward”, even if its walking. Don’t worry about the weight, you will be glad you had it come about 20 miles Sunday.
    You are going to do great!!

  4. Go Cheryl! You are sooooooo ready!

Leave a Reply

