Rainy days and Sunday

It’s been raining all weekend, Kim and I talked last night and the forecast looked promising around 7:30 this morning so we set a date to meet at Academy Sports and then head to the River Market where we would head over to North Little Rock to run 10 miles on the River Trail. Well, around 3:30 am this morning it was storming and raining so hard it took awhile for me to get back to sleep, at 5:00 it was still raining, when I got up at 5:30, you guessed it, still raining. I called Kim at 7:00 am after looking at the radar which was almost completely green with rain and said “what do you want to do?” We decided to call each other back in an hour to see if the rain had let up.

I had time to get some things done around the house, put a roast in the crock pot, get dressed, but I was really wanting to get out of the house, so a little before 8 it appeared to have stopped raining so I called Kim and said “Let’s go”. Well, I was sadly mistaken about the rain, by the time I arrived at Academy Sports at 8:15, it was coming down pretty good, too hard to run in. We decided to go ahead drive over to Little Rock and if it was still raining as hard, we would just go to Starbucks.

When we got to the River Market it had let up some. We had both used our brains and worn rain jackets and hats, I put my phone in my jacket just in case there was a flood or torrential downpour and we headed out. There was no on at the River Market nor was there anyone on the River Trail. The rain continued for most of our run, we really couldn’t tell how wet we were until we stopped. Thank goodness it wasn’t cold, it was in the 50’s. At times these big fat drops of rain would hit our ears, that wasn’t fun, neither was the spray from the cars before we got to the River Trail.

We saw our first individual around mile 4 and he was on a bike, I was really surprised there wasn’t more people, I mean really, Kim and I are not hard core by any means. After that we saw a girl walking with an umbrella and an older guy walking. We saw our first runner about a mile from the River Market, that’s it. Closer to the end of our run we were able to take our rain jackets off because it was just misting rain instead of drops. I was so glad we decided to go ahead and run, if we would have waited any longer I don’t think we would have gotten it done. We ended up with 10 miles at an average pace of 10:50 per mile. My leg was pretty cooperative, I took an anti-inflammatory before I went to bed and two ibuprofen before leaving the house, I also took a Fioricet for good measure.

We made our customary stop at Starbucks, but this time we decided to go to the one in Barnes & Noble where we could browse the books. It was a great run, wet or not. Here are two pictures we took, notice the Canadian geese in the background, the pictures are not good, through my crappy phone, this was pretty early in our run, probably less than 4 miles.

Cheryl

Me

3-30-08-kim.jpg

Kim

I’m leaving for the beautiful city of Boca Raton, FL in the morning, so my blog may be short and sweet this week.

One Response

  1. saw the kitty pics you uploaded. I like their jungle-gym contraption!!

Leave a Reply

