Catching up

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve written anything, but I’m going to try and post my training runs since the San Francisco Marathon is only about 9 weeks away or is it 8? Anyway, I’m a little behind on my training and I’m paying for it on the weekends.

Yesterday Kim and I met with the Little Rock Marathon Training Group at the River Trail for a leisurely 12 mile run at 6am. Of course we are in Arkansas and it was a bit humid, not near as humid as last Saturday, but humid and warm. I told Kim I wanted to run at about 11:15 pace for the entire 12 miles, who am I kidding, that never works, actually overall we ending up with an average of 11:16, but by the end, we were both dragging our butts in. I wonder if we kept an even pace the entire 12 miles, would we be just as tired? who knows cause we can’t seem to start out slow enough.

Nothing exciting happened on the run, we were on the River Trail the entire time, we did have to dodge a flock of Canadian geese, I counted about 30 of them, they were just sitting by the trail, one on the trail, 2 on the opposite side, so we slowed down as to not scare the crap out of them. There were lots of people out, tons of bike riders, not like in the winter when there was no one out.

We made a pit stop at the Mulberry tree to get a berry or two, I made Kim try one and she spit it out, they are yummy, I only had a couple and we were off again. Then we stopped at a grove of wild plum trees, they weren’t ripe so we moved on.

When we were nearing the end of our run, about mile 11.6 or so, we had started walking, we were both beat, we thought we were right by our start point, but we were about 1/4 mile away and we decided okay, turn the Garmin back on and run it in, thank goodness we did. We were running in and there was this group of people along with the leader of the LR Marathon training group waiting on us to get in, we were the last ones on the list! but we were also the ones with the most distance. I did feel bad though, I don’t know how long they had been waiting on us, when we were running up they started clapping, probably so they could go home!! It was pretty funny.

After our run, we drove down to the new Junction bridge, parked, got our money together and then walked across the Arkansas river to the Farmer’s Market, what a treat, we got our coffee at Boulevard Bread and then walked around the vendors getting fresh fruits and vegetables. It was really nice, I looked for Annette because I thought she was doing the Dino Dash 5K, but never saw her, come to find out she didn’t do it. We headed back across the bridge with our bags of produce and it was only 9:30 in the morning.

Wow, this was a long post, I guess I had a lot to say.

11.89 miles 11:17 avg pace Avg HR 156 Max 174 Calories 1112

  1. 10:54
  2. 10:49
  3. 11:13
  4. 10:34
  5. 11:22
  6. 12:28
  7. 10:48
  8. 11:22
  9. 11:21
  10. 12:39
  11. 11:14
  12. 10:31
3 Responses

  1. Welcome back, Cheryl! Welcome back to heat/humidity, too — yuck!

    My house is all empty now. My stuff is arriving over here on Tuesday!!!!

  2. I’m glad you are posting again šŸ™‚ I’ve missed reading about your runs!!
    I need to post the pictures of you and Michele picking the Mulberry tree’s clean last weekend! LOL

  3. I’m still enjoying the great fruit and vege’s I bought!!!
    And yes, thank goodness we started running again at the end…they probably wouldn’t have clapped for us if we were walking!

Leave a Reply

