Buyer’s Remorse

Today I met Kim at the Community Center and I went with her to a Body Sculpting class, Whoa, it was tough, I’m having trouble even typing, it was all upper body work and let me tell you that little Miss Andrea put the hurt on my arms and chest, I’ll be in tears by the morning.

Kim had fixed me this cutest little basket with dish towels, hand towels, a cute rug and all these gift cards, way over board!!  It was very thoughtful, but way overboard, way over the top, I really appreciated it.  We added to the basket when we stopped at the Air Force Base where they were having a NAF sale (don’t ask) I bought a set of knives for $1.00.  They don’t match, but hey, now I have dish towels and knives!

After the base we stopped at a couple of furniture stores, Sears, more furniture stores, mattress store, electric company, the bank and the North Little Rock Community Center.  I really have no furniture to speak of, most of it I sold before my move in with my now ex-fiance.  Anyway, today was the day for the final walk through at my new house, 2:15 to be exact, Kim and I got there early, pet Dixie the cute Lab, and sat in the heat and waited on Melissa, my Realtor.  I was noticing lots of things I hadn’t noticed before, like how dirty the outside of the house was, how the screen on one of the windows was messed up, the crack that the seller was supposed to fix, he didn’t, the driveway that needed to be swept, the dog that needed a bath and her toenails clipped, the list just went on and this was before we went in the house.

Then Melissa got there and we went in.  She explained that the Seller repaired the attic fan and it cost almost 300.00, he also replaced the garbage disposal and that was more than he thought too.  I’m just listening and thinking, so…. Then I go and lift up the corner of the carpet where the furniture used to be in the living room to take a peek at the hardwoods, someone had painted them white, really? really.  I went over to another corner, same thing, white paint, idiots.

We started taking a look at the things on the inspection list and what should have been fixed, not everything was fixed, I didn’t understand, but Melissa said, looks like he made repairs up to $500.00 then stopped.  We had a clause of some sort about the inspection if repairs needed to be made and $500.00, I should have paid more attention.  There were things he fixed that looked like crap, other things he didn’t touch that I guess I’ll have to fix, I was just frustrated by the time we were getting ready to leave.  I asked if the Seller would clean the house, she didn’t think so, great.

After Kim dropped me off at my car in Jacksonville, I was on my way home, stopped at the grocery store and my phone rang, it was the Title company, all cheery.  I was not cheery.  It is now 3:30 on Friday afternoon and I am less than 1/4 of a mile from my house, tired and hungry.  She says I need to bring a cashier’s check with me on Monday morning in the amount of $12,400.00 at 8:30am, I’m just shaking my head, your kidding right?  You couldn’t call earlier?  It’s Friday afternoon, I’m at the grocery store I have to turn around and go back to where I just left and get a cashier’s check, woohoo.  And that’s what I did.

I’m having a little buyer’s remorse, after all the things I saw today that need to be done and all the things I know the seller is not going to do, I’m very disappointed, I should be excited and this afternoon I’m not.  I was excited, but right now, not.

2 Responses

  1. Owning a house is like that! Welcome to adulthood! LOL

    Hang in there, everything takes time.

  2. I agree with Linda, unfortunately. Real Estate has NEVER been fun for me — not even this house. But in the end I have loved all houses I have owned. Good luck, Cheryl — you’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

