Two hot runs – Marathon Countdown 8 days

The temperature around here is definitely warm, okay, okay, it’s HOT! Well, it is the middle of summer and what would you expect in Arkansas but Hot and Humid! Nothing less.

Kim came over late yesterday afternoon to finish up her 20 mile run for the day, she was doing her long run yesterday because she knew I was doing my taper this week, that was very nice of her, so I was going to run the last 5 miles with her, we knew it would be a lot warmer than our usual 6am runs, and it was. She got here around 4:30 and we both decided we didn’t want any hills, that’s hard to do in Lakewood, our only option was to run around the lake, it’s shady and relatively flat, so we would have to make 3 long loops and 2 short, that was our plan.

It was about 5pm when we started and HOT, probably around 90 degrees and very humid, we were sweat soaked after our first loop. We put our water in the shade and ever loop we would stop and get a drink, it was a relief. On loop 3, which was a little over 3 miles I was not feeling well, we were running at a brisk pace, it’s hard to run slow when you’re wanting to get it over with and it’s flat. I had to sit down for a few seconds just to get my breath, I was pouring sweat and breathing hard. Just 2 more miles. Lap 4 was the same, I had to stop and sit down, get a drink of water and catch my breath, not used to running in the afternoon at all! Only one more mile to go, on our last lap we took our water and headed back, we didn’t get quite 5 miles, but we were both okay with what we did get, it was miserably humid!! Our average pace ended up being 10:22, which we thought was pretty decent considering the heat.

Today my mileage was 8 miles, I checked the weather at 5:15am, 80 degrees with 83% humidity, Holy Crap! Thank goodness it will be about 20 degrees cooler in San Francisco next week. Met Kim at Target at 5:35, a little late since my stomach rebelled against me right when I was ready to leave the house, this may not end up being a great 8-miler.

We headed to the meet spot for this weeks Little Rock Marathon Training, the State Capitol, there were lots of runners today, I was already trying to figure out where the first bathroom was after I picked up our route sheet. Not good, it was at least 2 miles away on Kavanaugh. The longer we stood there the more I had to go to the bathroom, by the time Tom got on top of his car and shouted “Good Morning Crackheads” I knew I would have to find a bathroom BEFORE we started running. I told Kim and she understood, we jumped in my car and headed to the nearest restaurant, McDonald’s. Of course, it was in the worst part of town, I told Kim to keep the doors locked while I ran in, there was even a sign on the bathroom door “for customers only, see cashier for key”, luckily it was not locked. Took care of things and headed back out, feeling much better.

We had wasted 10 minutes, not bad, considering driving to McDonald’s and back. Our first two miles were uphill, that was tough, but we did catch up to the walkers about mile 1, that was a good feeling, at least we wouldn’t be last again! We kept moving on and actually caught some other people, my stomach was doing okay, what was really bothering me was my side, I don’t know if it’s side stitches or muscles, just don’t have a clue really. I had one high, under my ribs and one low, right above my hip bone, both on the right side, the pain lasted the whole way back, a couple of times I had to completely stop running.

Once we got back down to the Capitol we were at a little over 6 miles, our route was going to take us into the “hood”, we’ve been on the route 4-6 times before, if not more, but it’s always been early in the morning, it was now about 7:30am and people were out. We were running on this main street and I was feeling really tired, my legs were heavy, my side hurt and I was paranoid. We were supposed to run down to 16th Street and up to Central High School, we made an executive decision to run another block and turn around. We didn’t want to die in a drive by, and that’s what I was feeling. Who cares if we only get 7.5 miles? Not me!!

We turned around and I think Kim picked up the pace a bit, it was that kind of neighborhood. We made it back in one piece with no extra holes!! It was Starbuck’s time, the closest one was at Baptist Hospital, I was going to drop Kim off and circle the parking lot, there was a cop standing out there who stopped her and said “are you going to Starbucks?” they didn’t open till 8:30. WHAT? OMG, this is insane, then I had to think, where is another one? Chenal, we weren’t far away, drove out there and when we walked in there were probably 10 people in line. It took forever, we finally got our drinks and headed to the Farmer’s Market. Kim bought lots of fresh fruits and veggies, me none, I just was not feeling that great. This time it was my shoulder blade/back, it was making me nauseated, so food was not what I wanted, a bed sounded better. I sound like a big whiner….

We then headed to Linen’s n Things, I bought new sheets and new pillows, then I dropped Kim off at her car, I think we were both just tired, the heat just took it out of us last night and this morning. I have lots of things I need to do today, not sure what I’ll get done, right now I want to take a nap.

Our pace for this morning was about a minute slower than last night, lots of hills and a few walk breaks made the difference. How the hell am I going to be able to run that marathon next Sunday, after this mornings run, maybe I should stick to walking.

One Response

  1. Cheryl you are just tired after 2 back to back hot runs!! You will be fine next weekend!!
    Just remember we are going to have fun!!!! We just have to get through the Marathon and then we have 2 more days of fun in California!!!

Leave a Reply

