San Francisco Marathon Countdown – 4 downs

It’s Taper Madness time!! Only 4 days until the marathon and it is crazy getting ready, things to pack, lists to make, runs in the heat!!!

Last night was my Tuesday Night Running Clinic, hottest clinic yet! I’m guessing it was high 90’s maybe even 100, thank goodness Coach Dennis had us on a modified workout, 1 mile warm up, 1 mile strides, and then cool down, we all hate the strides so we modified the workout (sorry Coach Dennis). It was me, Annette and Bailey, we did about 1.25 mile warm-up and then instead of running on the blazing hot track we took off in the shaded neighborhood for a couple of miles. We ended up with 3 miles at around a 11:00 per mile pace, taper madness!

I planned on stopping by to see my kitties on my way home, but never could get anyone on the phone, I thought about just stopping by, but I thought that might be a bad idea. I really miss them and want to see them before I leave tomorrow, maybe I can see them tonight.

This morning I’m running with Kim, she is out there right now getting in about 3 miles while I’m typing this. I just checked the weather, it’s 82 degrees at 5:45am, the humidity is 65% and the dewpoint is 69 degrees, so it feels like 85. Can you believe that? It’s still dark out and it feels like 85!! She’ll be back in a few minutes to pick me up and we’ll run about 5 miles. It will be my last “longish” run before the marathon, YEAH!!

Just got back from my run with Kim, whew, it was warm, but I don’t think it was any hotter than it has been, yes the temperature was warmer, but I guess it’s all relative, summer runs with sweat rolling down your elbows means it’s just hot! We had a good run, my customary stop at the bathroom, ran up all the hills, couple of stops for traffic and one walk break, ended up with 5.10 miles at an average pace of 10:29 per mile, and the best part? no side stitch and my back/shoulder blade didn’t hurt either. This was the first day in a long time where neither one bothered me, if only the marathon goes as well I’ll be smiling from ear to ear!

Kim had a little marathon gift bag for me, it was a surprise really, she had a bag of frosted animal cookies, couple of Luna bars, pair of Nike socks, some chocolate covered mints, dark chocolate covered almonds and some Hershey dark chocolate sticks, do you see a theme here?? I love that kind of stuff and she knows it! Some of it will be going in my suitcase, especially the chocolate and luna bars.

Tomorrow morning we will be heading to the airport, our flight is at 7:30 am, I think Annette’s husband, Arland, is taking us to the airport, which will be much appreciated and then we have a short layover in Phoenix. Once we get to San Francisco we are taking the train to our hotel, I’m not sure what we’ll do tomorrow, but I’m sure we’ll find something. On Friday we will wait on Bailey to get in and then head to the Expo to pick up our packets and enjoy the fun, then we head to Bailey’s Mothers house in San Jose to spend the night there, on Saturday night we come back to San Francisco to spend the night. It goes on. But, I’m taking my laptop and will hopefully be able to keep everyone posted as the festivities get underway.

Keep those good thoughts for us coming!! Got tons of stuff to finish up today so I’m not sure if I’ll get another post in before I leave in the morning. I finally got my camera software loaded on this computer, so if your really bored here are some pictures of my beautiful hardwood floors and a squirrel who was eating some grapes I put out for the rabbit or whoever wanted them.

Living Room

Living Room


Halllway

Halllway

3 Responses

  1. Gorgeous floors!!!

  2. Amazing how much crap you need to bring, I think I packed every piece of running gear known to man.

    If I don’t have a chance to stop by before the race, good luck. Have fun. I look forward to the race report.

  3. GOOD LUCK CHERYL! And your floors are amazing!

Leave a Reply

