Monday Run – Days are getting shorter!!

I got up at 5:30am to start my 5 mile run at 6:00am, Kim is working this week and can’t join me for our traditional, Mon, Wed, Friday runs. It was still dark at 6:00 am, I looked on the weather channel and sunrise was at 6:36, boohoo, I hate that summer is coming to an end. I know most of you love fall and all that BS, but I love summer and dread fall because it means winter is right after the cool, crisp days of fall.

I waited until about 6:10 and headed out by my lonesome. My goal is to gain speed before my next huge adventure, the American Odyssey Relay on April 29, 2009. We (all 12 of us) need to keep a 10:30 pace to come in under the time limit, and I have no doubt I can do that, but I want to be better than 10:30. I don’t know what I’m going to do to increase speed, but I’ll consult with Coach Dennis to get his thoughts, with all the traveling I’ll be doing in the next few months it will have to include dreadmills too.

It was pretty cool to start out the morning, about 69, but of course humid, very overcast and threatening rain. It takes me about 2 miles to get my groove, no iPod, but lots of thoughts go through my head, work, my house, my life, my kitties that I miss with all my heart, my recent San Francisco Marathon, I was not bored. I did miss running with Kim and I did miss seeing all the geese at the lake, I don’t know where they were. The only time I stopped was for traffic when crossing McCain Blvd. twice.

Kim and I both signed up for the St. Jude Half Marathon in Memphis on December 6th, 2008, we ran it last year with Annette and had a blast, can’t wait to do it again this year, but better trained! Last year I stopped at mile 12 and said “I’m done”, I did finish, but I was coming off a sprained ankle and hadn’t trained enough. This year we will be adding a shopping trip after the marathon and again staying with Aunt Martha, who so graciously let us stay with her last year.

I have 2 other tentative races, courteous of Kim, the Arkansas 20K on September 27th in Benton, AR and the Great Duck Race 10K in Stuttgart, AR on November 29th. We shall see, she is an ANIMAL!! She has Chicago coming up in October, then White Rock in December and then I think she wants to do an Ultra…. I don’t think my feet can take an Ultra, but who knows. I don’t really have plans for another Marathon right now, my first 2 in one year is a pretty big accomplishment I think, I’m going to be pretty picky about my next one.

My results from today –

5.00 miles
51:17
10:15 average
458 Calories
158 Avg Hr
176 Max HR

  1. 10:54
  2. 10:25
  3. 10:26
  4. 9:36
  5. 9:55
2 Responses

  1. Great run this morning!!!!!

    You have always had the speed you just needed endurance and now you have it. You have really improved a lot over the last few months and I know you are going to be way under a 10:30 pace in that relay race!!!

    I LOVE the new header on your blog!!!!!! 🙂

  2. 9:36 mile….awesome…..I knew you were a sandbagger!!
    Love the header also.

Leave a Reply

