Wimpy

I wimped out of my Monday run, too sore, my quads and hips were sore from all the weekend running and I think I overdid my yard work on Sunday.  I cleaned out an area on the side of my house that probably hadn’t been touched in 10 years, overgrown, rotten, decomposing, nasty, just ugly.  It looks much cleaner and neater now, but all that squatting up and down, OUCH!  I worked for about 3 1/2 hours in my yard, it looked better for about 24 hours, the difference in this yard and my old yard is trees.  I have about 9 big oak trees in this yard, in my old yard 2 trees, period.  The trees are great, don’t get me wrong, but I only have weeds, no grass, leaves and small limbs are always in the yard and drive, it just looks messy all the time.

I was so proud of my old yard, couple of hours mowing, weed eating and it looked well manicured, professional.  This yard, not so much.  I don’t think it will ever be like I want it, I would have to work on it every day and that’s not going to happen, for one thing, traveling and another, I don’t know where to start, what to plant and where to plant it.  I’ll just do the best I can with what I have and enjoy the shade.

Gustav has blown in quite a bit of rain and wind, I think Kim is stopping by the house this afternoon for a run, but it looks like it might be a soggy run.  I don’t think I’ll be going to Cabot for the running clinic or running in the downpour here unless it lets up some.

I finally bought a desk, I can fold up the card table and get it out of the living room, making progress, slowly but surely.  I know the furniture I bought for the Living room will be here within a week, I needed a desk and there was a great deal on one at Pier 1 yesterday, so I bit the bullet and bought it!  I haven’t picked it up yet, need to move some boxes out of the office and make it into an actual office.  I will have a real home eventually.

That’s all the excitement I can think of for now, keep dry.

3 Responses

  1. Good luck with the ‘cane!!!

  2. I don’t think you are wimpy at all!!! Rest is important and I think your body was telling you it needed a break!!

  3. I don’t think you’re wimpy, either!

    I bet your new yard looks much better than you’re giving yourself credit for. 3 1/2 hours is a LONG time!

Leave a Reply

