TGIF Run

It’s been a very stressful week at work and TGIF!!  Some weird runs, some good, some bad, today started out not so good, but ended up pretty good.  Kim got to my house a little after 6am, I was ready so we got started about 6:20, not even a quarter of a mile into the run my heart rate monitor starts alarming, what the Hell?  it was dark and I couldn’t see what it was, but I have it set to alarm me when it gets to 182, we weren’t even running that hard yet.  I think I’m just getting old, but it still worries me some so I made an appointment with my GP for next week.

Back to the run, just a little further and uh oh, gotta go to the bathroom, well this is not going so well, so I had to walk fast the rest of the way to the bathroom.  Off again, I really struggled for the first couple of miles, it was bloody humid, worse day this week, hard to get my breathing down until right at 2 miles and then we were cruising, but very hot and sweaty.  We got a honk today from our friend LeAnn, woohoo, we haven’t seen her in ages, so that gave us some talk for another 1/2 mile or so, but then we were quiet, too hot.

We stopped running at 5 miles, Kim’s Garmin went off while we were in the alley, we were both done!  We saw Becky and Buck walking up ahead, they’re my 80 something neighbors, at least he’s somewhere around that age, they were going to lunch today at Golden Corral, he said they meet once a month with his High School from 1940!!  There is about 7 or 8 of them who meet, they are so funny, I saw them head out about 10:50, their luncheon was at 11:30, Golden Corral is about 8 minutes away, I guess they wanted a good table!  I was hoping they’d bring me some pie….no such luck.

My Garmin only had 4.59 miles, I stopped mine when I had to walk to the bathroom, but we still ended up with a 10:15 average, this was amazing to me, here were my splits –

  1. 10:54
  2. 9:53
  3. 9:54
  4. 9:57
  5. 11:00
3 Responses

  1. My splits usually look like that… well, just add a couple of minutes per mile. 🙂

  2. Did the Capitol run today with the LR M. group…Man, it was so hot! It was the longest 6 miles of my life….how do you ever get to 26?!
    PS Do you have any running skirt recommendations? I am really wanting to get one, but I want one at least 16-17 inches long and preferably with a wide waistband….

Leave a Reply

