Looming 20K

This Saturday Kim and I are running in a 20K, it’s my first one, not sure if Kim has run one before, but I don’t think so.  I’m anxious and nervous about it, I’ve been having running dreams, last night I dreamed we got there and I had cowboy boots on and had forgotten my running shoes. HA!!  It was a bizarre dream, we had to drive up this very narrow and steep road to get there, almost straight up, hope that doesn’t mean huge hills!

I’m hoping I can finish with a 10:30 average pace, I’ve been running my 5-6 mile runs at about a 10 minute average pace, so I think 10:30 would be doable if I can pace myself.  I’d like to get there early enough to do a warm up run, just to get relaxed and use the bathroom if needed, which I usually do, I’ve heard the course is very hilly, we’ve been running our usual hills, but I don’t want to see hill after hill!  This will be a good test run for the Memphis Half Marathon in December.

Today was a solo run, weather is still great, shorts and a tank is still the norm, not even looking at the long sleeves like last week.  I’m not even sure what the temperature was this morning, guessing mid to high 60s, sweat was rolling though, I beat the 10:00 average pace today by seconds!  I didn’t do the 6 mile loop instead I did an extra loop at the peninsula before the big hill on Edgemere and then there’s an extra jag we do off of McCain.  I stopped running when I got to the alley, I just didn’t want to run up that hill, it would have added another .20 mile to my house, but I had enough and enjoyed the cool down walk.

I ended up with 5.25 miles with an average pace of 9:57!!!  Barely under 10:00, but under nonetheless.  I’ve noticed my heart rate average is up a bit the past couple of days, average is 160, why is that?  Running harder?  But, I haven’t had any of those crazy spikes in my heart rate like I did last week, thank goodness, that was a little scary.

Here’s a question for all you runner’s out there, as I become more conditioned to running, shouldn’t my heart rate become lower?  or should it be higher because I’m pushing myself a little harder?  The heart is an amazing machine, it fascinates me.

Here are my splits –

  • 10:20
  • 10:04
  • 9:51
  • 9:40
  • 9:56
  • 9:34
3 Responses

  1. GREAT run today Cheryl!!!!! Miss speedy gonzales 🙂

    I’m no expert but you are pushing yourself harder lately, I think once you get used to the faster paces your heart rate will start coming down. I bet if you went out and ran 5 miles at an 11:00 pace it would be lower??? maybe???

  2. Good luck on the 20K, I know I’ve never done one either. 🙂

    I’m looking for goal runs right now…

  3. WOW! Good for you!!!

Leave a Reply

