New Year and Seven Pounds

Well here it is another New Year already, I did nothing exciting, couldn’t even stay up until midnight.  I think this was this most uneventful New Years Eve ever for me, the only thing I did was go to Walgreen’s a pick up some prescriptions that I had refilled on-line on Monday, they were supposed to be ready by 9 am on Wednesday, went to the all great Walgreen’s at 4:30pm on the last day of the year to pick them up and of course they had no record of my order.  Let me rant about this for a second or two, why don’t they have a record of my order?  Did it get lost in www land?  This is not the first time this has happened, and the funny thing, it always happens when they need to call the doctor to get an okay for a refill, hmmmm, that’s odd, now it’s 4:45pm on New Year’s Eve, the doctor’s office is closed and they can’t do it, looks like a pattern to me.  I called it on MONDAY so they had 2 full freaking days to get it done.  Give me a stinking break, I hate Walgreen’s, I hate Wal-Mart.  Is there an easier way to get my prescriptions without talking to anyone?  Okay I’m over it, just had to get it off my chest.

New Year’s Day – Tammy and I decided to drive over to Little Rock and do a Resolution Run with a group of runners in Little Rock, I’m really not sure what group it was, regardless we ended up running by ourselves anyway!  The run was supposed to start at 8:00 am, we were kind of unsure of the location and left early, thank goodness because we were at the wrong location at first and just happened upon the right location, which just happened to be at the bottom of the hill which goes from Hillcrest to the Heights.  I had hoped we were not starting our run up that baby.

We were beginning to wonder if anyone was going to show up, but we were warm and toasty in my vehicle and knew we could just get out and run if need be.  Before long some other cars showed up and we HAD to get out in the cold and grab a route sheet, uh oh, up the big hill was the route.  When we were standing around trying to decifer the route we saw Marda and JT from our Saturday LR Marathon running group, we talked with them for a few mintues and then we took off, it was too cold to just stand around.

It was a little rough starting out going uphill immediately, we didn’t get in any kind of warm-up either, we walked maybe 20 feet and then it was up, up and up.  I was thankful when it leveled off, but knew that would not last, this route was similar to some of our long routes in this area and they are #2 behind Rahling Road as far as hills go, it did not disappoint today, but Tammy and I did a great job and can I say THANK YOU SUNSHINE! When the Sun would hit my legs or face it felt wonderful, it was quite chilly to me, right around 32, with about a 6mph wind, it doesn’t sound that cold I know, but for some reason it felt very cold.

The route was perfectly planned and we turned around at the 2.5 mile mark and headed back, you would think downhill by now, but NOOOOO, still hills.  The only downhill was right at the end and we were very anxious to get back and finally get something hot to drink, namely Starbucks, which was luckily close by.  We bought our hot drinks and I proceeded to lose my keys in Starbucks, they ended up being in the bathroom, but it took forever to find them, I had laid them on the toilet paper dispenser, don’t ask.

When then headed back to our side of the River and to Target where we got some great after Christmas deals, just a few things, not over spending and I’m definitely watching my money, well I thought I was until I got to the Mall.  Dillard’s was having a super duper sale, all there permanently marked down items were an extra 50% off!  Oh MY!!  My kind of sale and they really had some great buys, there was this purse I have been eyeing for a while and it was already marked down to around $110.00, so I knew if it was still there, $55.00, but alas, it was gone, but after a lot of searching I found another one, same brand, Chocolate Blu, different purse, which regular price $210.00, my price $45.00, what a freaking deal!  I also bought a pair of slippers.  Tammy got a super cute puffy vest for $10 and some slippers too.  We were pooped and grabbed a chicken sandwich and headed home.

We had tentatively made plans to see Four Christmases on New Years Day, so we drove by the theater to see what time it started, 9:30pm was the only showing, WHAT???  That sucked, we were not going to that one, so we picked 4 movies that started around 4pm, Tammy put them on pieces of paper and we drew 3 out of 5, Seven Pounds came out 4 out of 5 times and that is what we saw at 4:20 yesterday afternoon.

Seven Pounds – Okay I like Will Smith, I think he is a great actor and I liked the movie, but it was disturbing, I was confused for a while in the beginning and it took some time for me to figure it out.  I cried a few times and at the end it was hard to stop crying.  That’s all I’m going to say about it.   Okay, that’s not all I’m going to say about it, I hope that everyone that does see it gets at least one message from it – pay attention and think, I really don’t want to say more than that or I might give it away.

Today Tammy and I ran in the ‘hood’, just did loops around the lake since we have another hilly route tomorrow, 16 miles of pretty much the same hills we did yesterday AND it’s supposed to rain.

I did want to do a recap of my accomplishments for 2008 and I will, I just have to get to work right now!!  Oh and Tammy and I had negative splits on every mile yesterday (well almost), we had a great run – here are our times, remember it was very hilly –

  • 10:34
  • 10:21
  • 10:05
  • 9:52
  • 9:54
2 Responses

  1. My daughter told me not to go see 7 pounds, because I cry so much at movies she was worried I’d dehydrate. 🙂

    Good on you for the deals, the run, the whole thing!

    I agree with Brenda on your $$$. Try to think of it this way: you’re not losing money. Your shares are losing value. But they will gain value again, unless you sell them now. It’s just like owning a house, and wanting to sell it in the down market, instead of the up. Just hang. You have a LONG time until you need your 401K.

    Happy new year!

  2. Happy New Year! I’m looking forward to American Odyssey Relay.

Leave a Reply

