Florida makes you forget about winter

It’s just amazing how a little bit of Florida sunshine can make you forget all about winter.  I arrived in Boca Raton Sunday night around 10pm and immediately had to strip my coat off since it was about 75 degrees!  Love it!  Finally got to my hotel and in bed by about midnight, it was a long day.

Thank goodness I had gotten in a run Sunday morning, there was no way I was getting up at 5am on Monday morning before going into the office.  Tammy had decided not to run with me and Kim on Sunday morning and as Kim and I were rounding the bend by the Old Mill it had started raining we were glad she didn’t because there she was in her car and Kim and I hopped in.  The rain was cold and the WIND was brutal, we were so happy to see her!  We only had about 1/2 a mile to go so we were not disappointed.

Last night in Boca we went to one of my favorite restaurants, Season 52, its so super yummy, everything is fresh, in season, no butter, every meal is under 475 calories.  I had the cedar plank salmon with fresh veggies and I ordered a side of roasted golden beets with wasabi dipping sauce, oh my god!! they were melt in your mouth delicious!  I couldn’t eat all my veggies, but I tried, I shared my beets with Eric and Sherry, they loved them too.  Once I got back to the hotel I stayed up way too late watching TV, True Beauty, I think is what I started watching, it was hilarious, a game show where these beautiful people are tested on their inner beauty, they just don’t know it.  So, finally went to bed around 11:30.  KNOWING my alarm was set for 4:45am….

When my alarm went off at 4:45 I think I hit the snooze 3 times, I could not get up, I did finally get up and get over to the treadmill around 5:30am, I was so dreading it.  I hooked my headphones up, turned the TV on and set the program for hills and 40 minutes.  Stupid TV, I absolutely could get nothing except news, a spanish channel, cartoon channel, nature channel and infomercials.  Really put me in a piss poor mood.  I did my 40 stinking minutes and the hills kicked my butt!  I had to slow down my speed several times, I will use this program again tomorrow, if I get up on time maybe an hour, but I doubt it with nothing to distract me.

Coming home on Thursday night, big 16 mile run on Saturday, maybe Spring has sprung back home, HA!!!

5 Responses

  1. No Spring weather here – ran in 36 degrees tonight. It was cold the first mile but after that felt great. Hope you get to get in a run outside before you get back. Good news is I think the next few days have highs in the lower 60’s 🙂
    Brenda

  2. I knew that Florida warmth would make you feel better!! I started to call you last night while I was watching Biggest Loser but I fell asleep on the couch!

  3. Stopped by to see the Smokestack today..we cuddled for a bit…He wanted to go out, but I didn’t know how to hook up that harness on him, so I didn’t want to take a chance. Apparently Stephanie had been there…when? …I don’t know…but the tv was on…do you leave it on for him? Can’t say that I’m looking forward to Sat’s run (my feet are pretty sore this week), but it will be good to see you. Just me and you, Skipper..the Kimbo is in dispose…

  4. I have very fond memories of my last trip to Boca. Ooooh… it was a lovely lovely time. Alas.

    I hate dreadmills, I double hate dreadmills when the TV doesn’t work.

    You may get an email from Marci about the Little Rock Marathon.

  5. Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

