Unpack, pack, unpack

Well, I’m home for two days and then off again to New Port Richey, FL for the week and then home for the weekend until the following week, Louisville, KY.  It’s going to be a wild 6 months.  I usually don’t mind traveling, but now that I know I don’t see a light at the end of the tunnel, it’s no fun.  Traveling for a week or two then being back home is totally better.  Being gone week after week after week, sucks.  Dropped a bunch of clothes off at the dry cleaners today, can’t even get them until next weekend.

This morning, first, brrrr, cold and windy, Tammy and Kim were going to be at my house at 5:30, well last night Smokey knocked my alarm clock off the nightstand and when I reset the time I set it for EST, got up, dressed, getting ready to turn the porch light on for the girls when I noticed the clock on the stove read 4:15, WHAT??  I was confused ran in the Living Room to look at that clock, yep, 4:15 in there too.  Crap, I’m going back to bed for an hour, I laid back down, fully dressed, set the alarm on my cell phone and was about to doze off right before the alarm went off, why does that always happen?  I hadn’t slept well all night as it was and really needed about 45 minutes of extra sleep, damn it!

Around 5:40 no one was at my house so I called Tammy, she said she was on her way, but Kim had texted her last night and was not coming.  I haven’t seen Kim in over a week!!  Tammy and I headed to the Boat Ramp at the start of the River Trail in North Little Rock for our weekly run with the Little Rock Marathon Training group, we were both dressed pretty warmly, it was only about 24 degrees and windy, thank goodness we only had 10 miles today.  We ran slow today, which was fine by me.

Around mile 3 I started looking for a bathroom, Skate Park, new bathroom, locked, Golf Course, port-a-potties, gone, new bathrooms close to the dog park, locked, port-a-potties at the dog park, gone.  WTF?  We have run on the River Trail for the past few years and the one good thing has always been restrooms, today was the worst, there wasn’t one until we got back to mile 9.75.  I won’t go into the details, but I had to go into the woods, not a pretty sight, my hands and butt were frozen.

I think the only thing that got us through the 10 miles was knowing we were going to Starbucks afterwards, we were both having aches and pains here and there, and the bathroom issue…..

Starbucks was nice and warm and especially yummy.  No shopping today, I didn’t need anything, being out of town  has slowed down my shopping excursions, we got home early, I have lots to do to get ready for my trip including some work I brought home.

Posts will be short next week, I’m hoping to get 3 runs in again next week, hopefully a little longer than they were last week.  Happy running.

3 Responses

  1. I’m sad already…maybe the Smokestack will comfort me as his face in my stomach rolls..haha…anyhoo, I just found out that living with our friend is not even possible until at least May (on her end, not mine)…so I have to find a place in probably the next few weeks….I don’t know what to do really….keep you posted. I hope this week’s runs are better for both of us…

  2. Glad you are going to get to visit Louisville! I love your blog, and have been a reader for some time.

    🙂
    Tiffany

  3. Hang in there!!!

Leave a Reply

