Fly, Run, Run, Pack, Fly

That’s all that’s on my mind these days, when do I have to fly, pack and run?  Flew home Friday afternoon, almost ended up missing my connection in Cincinnati, OMG, I would have been a basket case, it was the last flight to Little Rock, it was all due to a plane being de-iced, but I made it with no time to spare.

I got home in time to get unpacked and start my clothes washing, I also had time to get my expense report completed for my previous trip to New Port Richey.  Then I had to start getting my clothes ready for our 16 mile Rahling Road run at 6am in the morning.

Tammy was at my house  at 5:20 ready to go, of course I was poking along even though I had been up since 4:30.  Kim had already started texting Tammy, she was meeting us at Rahling Road, we haven’t run with her in about 4 weeks.  Tammy and I were a tad bit late, the parking lot was packed, I haven’t seen that many people at one of our weekly runs in a long time.  We met up with Kim and hugs were in order, she looked like she had been on vacation, she had a little tan going on.

We ran about half a mile and I knew this was not going to be my best run, we had to leave, I mean leave by car and go to a bathroom, this has happened on this run before, maybe knowing there isn’t a bathroom for the entire 16 miles??  Anyway we drove to the Shell station and I used the bathroom and we got started again.  The weather was better than I expected, to start, around 35 degrees, but not windy, yippee!!!  It’s been awhile since we’ve been able to run without the wind blowing us backwards, but it still didn’t make all those hills any easier.  This is by far the hardest run we do for the entire year.

We kept a pretty steady pace throughout our first few miles, but my stomach was not doing well, I’m sure it’s because I’m not eating like I normally do at home, eating out every day for every meal sucks.  I kept trying to remember what I ate that caused my stomach to act up so much and I finally remembered when I got home later on Saturday, raisins.

When we got to around mile 4 or 5 I had to find a bathroom again, luckily we were close to a Burger King so we made a detour, I know it was a pain in the ass for Kim and Tammy, but there was no way I could have kept going.   More hills, and more hills, the sun was out in full force and felt great, I can’t remember the last time the weather felt decent.

We were close to a Kroger and decided to stop there too, Kim and I both went to the bathroom, I really didn’t HAVE to go, but I wasn’t going to let this opportunity pass me by knowing the rest of the route was pretty much all residential.

Around mile 8 my right foot started hurting, it’s been bothering me quite a bit lately, probably because I need new shoes, I’m now up to 500 miles on this pair, I found a pair on ebay and went to bid on them and someone had just bought them!  Of course the ones I want that were new in August 08 are now obsolete.  I will look in Louisville if I have time this week.

Kim and Tammy kept getting a little further ahead of me as we went along, it was fine, my foot was hurting more and more, it felt like it was going to explode, it’s the bone right under my big toe, it also felt like it was swollen.  Around mile 11 at the water stop I told Kim and Tammy I may send them ahead and they could grab the car and come back and get me, it was hurting that bad, but luckily that never happened I was able to run until a little after mile 15.

Around mile 13 I needed to pee and there was no were to go, I was either walking some because of my foot or because of the pressure in my bladder, I was miserable, I had also gotten warm, if you can believe that!  I had on this Hind top I bought in Memphis underneath another long sleeve top and that thing is super warm, I wanted to strip off one of the tops, but knew I didn’t have far to go, should have stopped and pulled off one of my tops.

Once I got to the bottom of the Rahling Mountain I could barely run, I wanted to run one light pole, walk one, but I could barely do that, sometimes I could run 1 and 1/2 poles and then walk 2 or 3, I had to pee so bad when I started running I was having problems holding my water!!  I felt like an old lady who needed her depends 😦 it was very depressing, it not for the poop, the pee and foot problems I’d be perfect 🙂

Once I got to the top of the hill I stopped my Garmin and walked the rest of the way, I was down in the dumps, I was hating myself, hating everything, everything!!  Flying, running, packing…

Ended up with 15.36 miles average pace around 11:25.  It was a tough course, it would have been much better without the plumbing problems.  BTW – When I uploaded my Garmin, the HILL – from 309 feet at the bottom to 604 at the top, wowser, 300 foot up!

Today I got up and ran by myself, I was pretty sore, quads especially so I did the 5 mile loop, the weather was almost perfect, 50 degrees, but wind.

Have all my clothes ready to pack for Louisville, just haven’t put them in the suitcase yet, I hope the weather is ton better this week, last week sucked.  I’m not bringing in running clothes for outside, I’m just going to run on the treadmill, last week I never got to run outside so I’m just blowing that plan off.  The following week I’m due to go to Columbia, SC, I’ve asked for a week to regroup and not travel, but I doubt I get it, so I’m thinking about staying the entire 2 weeks in Columbia instead of flying home on the weekend, Eric, the guy I work with, will be in Spartanburg, and we were thinking about meeting and going to Asheville or the Smokey Mountains, he’s never been there, I was in Asheville last year, but wouldn’t mind going again.  I really like being home so I’ll probably just come home, I hate packing for two weeks, who knows what I’ll do, but I have to make a decision tomorrow.

Well, gotta go pack and find something to stuff in my face so I can gain some more weight, it’s what I do, stress out and eat.

One Response

  1. You’re such a busy girl!

Leave a Reply

