Got my runs in, now where’s my Starbucks?

I’m in Columbia, SC, did they forget to put Starbucks here?  Seriously it’s Thursday and today I saw my first Starbuck’s, but it was lunchtime and I was starving so I didn’t get my fix.  All week long I’ve been looking for Starbuck’s, nada, weird when I’ve gotten used to seeing them all over the place in other cities.

I’ve been luckier on my runs this week, it didn’t start out that way on Tuesday.  I got down to the Fitness Center around 5:15am and it was packed, every machine was taken except for the bike, so I hopped on and set it for hills.  I rode for 22 minutes, there were points where I was pushing my legs down it was so hard!  Someone got off one of the treadmills and I ran for 27 minutes, I had to leave to get ready for work.

Wednesday and Thursday I got up at 4:45am and was able to beat the crowd on the treadmills, this allowed me to run 5 miles both days, have I mentioned how much I hate the treadmill?  I hate it, boredom, and nothing good on the TV either.  I had intentions of running outside here, the weather has been perfect in the mornings, around 50-55 degrees, but the area is not right for running, no sidewalks, no residential streets, just busy, scary, dark, not for me.  I’m staying in the same hotel next week so I already know what to expect – treadmill.

I did get to attend an aerobics class last night, one of the employees at the office invited me to go to their church for the weekly aerobics extravaganza.  I was hoping it would be more than one night, but it wasn’t.  The class was pretty low key, but good, it was nice to get out and socialize, better than sitting on my butt in the hotel.

Tomorrow night I head home for the weekend and then it’s back next week, I’m so ready to be home for a couple of weeks, it can’t come soon enough.

3 Responses

  1. Cheryl – way to get your workouts in 🙂 I don’t know HOW you do the dreadmill as much as you have to when out of town – but good for you for getting it done even when you have to get on that awful contraption 🙂
    Brenda

  2. GASP!!!! A Starbuck’s-less atmosphere?? Say it isn’t so!!!!! You poor thing….one more week and then you can get Starbuck’s EVERY DAY if you want…and oh so convenient, down the street from your house! At least you got some good runs in…my week has been ok as far as runs, but today my foot is pretty sore, so I am going to skip today. I may regret that tomorrow…or it may just save me..in any event, see you in the am!

  3. I cannot imagine a world without Starbucks…I am working really hard to cut back on extra expenses but that is one luxury that I just can’t give up! I just want to say that I admire your will power to run so much. I have been reading your blog for a while. I know that it’s not always easy. I used to LOVE to run. I have since had a baby and I am completly out of shape…I don’t know if I have the willpower to get back into shape but I would love to start running again…have a great week!!!

Leave a Reply

