New Shoes, I have NEW SHOES

You may be wondering why I’m so excited about new shoes, but my feet are happy, happy feet since I purchased new running shoes yesterday.  I was only about 150 miles over on my old pair of Mizuno Wave Nirvana 4’s, I just couldn’t find them out of town and then I went to Easy Runner in Little Rock and no one waited on me so I left, that was last weekend or 2 weekends ago.  Yesterday I went to Sporty Runner in Conway where I explained to the owner Linda that I was looking for new shoes and how my feet had been killing me, she brought out a Mizuno Rider and they were just not the same so I tried on the Nirvana and they were like heaven and 20% off, need I say more?

new-shoes

Tammy and I ran 14 miles yesterday with the Little Rock Marathon Training Group, we started at the River Market and ran part of the Marathon course which is only 4 weeks away, the weather was cold and SUPER WINDY!  I’m done with the wind, it was just sucking the life out of us both.   It was nice to be off of the River Trail, but it would have been nicer if it wasn’t so stinking windy!  We made two bathroom stops and two walk breaks, which worked out pretty good, nothing super eventful, my feet were killing me, I had already knew I was heading to Conway at some some point after our run to get new shoes.

We were both glad to get finished and out of the wind, Starbucks was calling our names, we stretched a bit and headed to NLR, I talked Tammy into going to Conway with me, it’s about a 30 minute drive and by the time we got there they were open, I got new shoes and so did Tammy (unexpectedly).  We ended up going to to Pier 1, Target and TJ Maxx, the only place I spent any money was Target even though I saw lots of things I wanted.

This morning I was excited to put on my new shoes and head out for a solo run around the hood, of course it was windy, what gives with the wind?  If it wasn’t windy it would have been more pleasant or should I say, not so Cold?  My shoes felt great and my feet were so happy, they didn’t hurt at all, I couldn’t believe it.  I can’t wait so long next time to get shoes, time flies and hopefully I’ll try and get them way before I need them.

Tomorrow I head back to Columbia, SC, not looking forward to it AT ALL, I hate the treadmill and I already know that’s where I’ll be doing my runs.  I have a question, who decides what’s on the TV’s in the fitness centers?  It seems it’s all geared toward men, it’s always news and sports, yuck, bores the crap out of me, give me some trash to watch to keep my mind off the stupid dreadmill for 5 miles.  There were 2 sitcoms on last week, both of which I hated, Married with Children and Roseanne.  One of these days maybe I’ll have time to upload some songs or podcasts on my Shuffle, maybe…

I will be home for a couple of weeks which is super exciting, the daffodils are coming up, maybe I can get out and work in my yard, I’m hoping I can take off a couple of days, like some 70 degree days?  Got any of those hanging around?  wouldn’t that be nice?

3 Responses

  1. YAY!!! for the new shoes. Glad you enjoyed your run in them today. I am sure next week’s long run will be much better with the new shoes. Also glad after this week you will be back for a couple of weeks 🙂
    Brenda

  2. Yay on the new shoes! I’m not running today, but will try out mine probably tomorrow….Yeah…hopefully you will be home during some good weather. We’ll have to do some 6 mile loops here and there!

  3. I love my Mizuno Wave Renegades, but they were REALLY stiff, I think contributing to my PF last fall. Now, they are PERFECT!!!

    How fun!

Leave a Reply

