Marathon Ready? Ultra Ready? Relay Ready?

My friend Kim was running her FIRST ultra marathon in Ft. Worth, Texas at the Cowtown 2009 Ultra on Saturday morning while my other friend Tammy and I were doing her last back down week of long runs before her FIRST marathon, the Little Rock Marathon on March 15th.  Me, I’m getting ready for my FIRST 200 mile relay at the American Odyssey Relay April 24-25 in Gettysburg, PA.

I was having some thoughts about running the Little Rock Marathon with Tammy and Kim on March 15th, just talking about it, the excitement leading up to the marathon, running part of the course, I’ve run all the long runs, wet, cold, windy, rainy, hard runs, seeing the finish area, but ultimately decided against it, just a multitude of issues.   It would be nice for the three of us to run the marathon together, not sure if or when we’ll ever have the chance again, but I guess it just wasn’t meant to be this time.

Yesterday Tammy and I both were dreading the 12 miles scheduled for the Little Rock Marathon Training group, we were both dreading two things, rain and Murray Park.  We had no doubt it would be raining and we had no doubt Murray Park was going to be boring as hell, it’s a long, long stretch of nothingness, part of the River Trail, but straight, flat, ugh!  Well, we were blessed with NO rain until right at the end of our run, we could see the parking lot when it started raining, yippee!!

Tammy said the “dreaded” Murray Park wasn’t as bad as she thought, Hmmm, it was horrible to me, I hated it, the out and back, it was about 2.5 miles out, 3 miles back past our vehicle, then over the bridge into NLR, made a big loop on the River Trail and back over the bridge and about another mile back to the car, BORING.

I had a semi-rough time toward the end, just got tired, had to walk for a few seconds a couple of times around mile 11 and when we were going back up the Big Dam Bridge.  The wind was horrendous, I want soon forget it, but for the most part we did great.  Tammy seemed to feel good the entire run, she has a walk run plan, run 4 or 5 miles and walk 1/2 a mile, it’s hard for me since I can’t keep up with her walking, I have to shuffle run to keep up with her walking.  I think it helps her get through her run.  I ended up with 12.23 miles at a 10:57 pace, a little faster than our other long runs, but it was quite a bit shorter too.  I think Tammy will do great at the Marathon, probably around 5 hours.

I was going to run today with Annette in Cabot, but at the last minute bailed, too windy and cold….I’m going to try and run most mornings this week, try to improve my speed a bit before the relay, like to get it back down to about 9:30, should be able to.

Anyone know anything about running in Raleigh, NC?  I’d love to find somewhere to run while I’m there instead of running on the treadmill, it really takes my speed down a notch.  I’m flying in on Sunday next week so I can come early on Friday on go to the Expo with Kim and Tammy.

7 Responses

  1. Hopefully you can get some good runs in this week…the weather is supposed to be better…Two days of runs for me will be the clinic…I may run with you on Friday morning…I’ll see how this week pans out..

  2. Good luck to Tammy. And well, you’ll get 11 smelly strangers to run AOR with… (Looking forward to it.)

  3. http://runlesleyrun.blogspot.com/
    Lesley L lives near Raleigh. She is one of the “Bad Girls of Running” on Facebook! Maybe you could run with her.

  4. You missed a good run. You know how I feel about the rest of it.

  5. I hope I’m not getting that funk you had..no nausea or diarrhea..but headache, achiness, cough…ugh..drinking Vitamin C in hopes that it will help!

  6. It was nice to see your blog.Just Keep Writing!

    ______________________________
    Don’t pay for your electricity any longer…
    Instead, the power company will pay YOU!

  7. I’m catching up on reading . . . you’ve been busy.

Leave a Reply

