Back to Raleigh

Well the Little Rock Marathon is over and I’m back in Raleigh, NC, it’s been a stressful week, my face has these huge zits, I swear I’ve never had breakouts like this, it’s a crime to be my age with this many skin issues, I’m looking for a new Dermatologist and a new skin routine, what I’ve been using is obviously useless.

Raleigh – I’m just so sick of traveling I don’t know where to start, I arrived on Monday and Monday night it rained, so no outside running, I decided to work late, get unpacked, iron my clothes and get some rest.  Tuesday it was supposed to warm up a bit so I planned to get out on the Greenway and run 5 miles, it was not quite as warm as I had hoped, 55 degrees. cloudy and windy, but I headed out in a skirt and tech tee, once I got about 1/2 mile out I was wishing I had a headband and long sleeves, just a little too cool, especially on the trail with the trees.

I felt pretty good until about mile 3.5, my stomach SEIZED up, and it was OMG, what the hell am I going to do?  I was in the freaking middle of the trail and I needed to go, NOW!  I started walking, looking for somewhere, bathroom, tree, rock, NADA, it was sparse, not enough cover, I had to keep walking, there was a creek on one side that had apartments overlooking it, so they could see the whole trail.  It was not good, at all.

I won’t go into the details, but things got taken care of and I finally started running again and finished my 5 miles, I was about to freeze by the time I got back to the hotel.

Today I wanted 5 miles, but I got spooked on the trail and ended up with 4 miles, but with a speedy average pace of 9:41, probably because of the creepy guy that spooked me.  I just kept thinking he was hiding somewhere and was going to jump out and knife me, weird, but that was what was going through my mind.

Tomorrow I’m going in the opposite direction, there should be lots more people out, it’s supposed to get up to about 74 degrees, 5 miles is my goal, then come back to the hotel and pack to come home on Friday, yippee, but short lived, I won’t get home till at least 9:15 Friday night then turn around and leave around 10:30 am on Sunday morning, geez, what’s the point in coming home?  Depressing.

2 Responses

  1. I hear you on the breakout issue. One thing that works for me when I remember to do it is use an aspirin mask. Just take 5-6 uncoated aspirin, dissolve them in a little warm water to make a paste and smear it on and around the area affected. Leave it on until it dries or you start to sneeze then rinse off. Usually 2 days of this will take care of most breakouts.

    Be sure and carry pepper spray if you can, I realize you can’t take it with you on the plane but maybe buying some when you get to your destination would be an option. hmm, wonder if Listerine breath spray would work?

    Gabby

  2. WTG on the marathon!!!

    Sorry about the stomach trouble…

    Isn’t it funny? Adult acne rots!!! What’s up with THAT??

Leave a Reply

