After – American Odyssey Relay

This is not my official race report of the relay, just an update. We finished the relay in about 36 hours, I was in Van #2 which got a total of about 2 hours sleep in those 36 hours.  We had a lot of fun, we got a little grouchy with the lack of sleep and I’m still sleepy even though I’ve had two good nights of sleep since the end of the relay.

I still find I’m a little off kilter, it was very tiring and I think I had a touch of heat exhaustion on Saturday when the temperatures reached the mid 90’s!!  I did not perform like I wanted to, I had great expectations for myself and I let myself down, but I’m pretty much over beating myself up and I know that running on a treadmill just won’t cut it for training for any sort of race.

I’ve got lots of pictures to post and lots of great memories once I get back home on the weekend, right now I’m back in Houston, working and running on the treadmill starting tomorrow, I’m going to try intervals and see if that helps, I’ve got a 5K this weekend and I would like to do at least “okay”.

More to come later!

Leave a Reply

