Life goes on….

I really haven’t wanted to post anything since the big “layoff” last week, just didn’t have much to say, but life goes on and I need to get past this feeling of loss and this feeling of being pissed, which I still am, by the way, but I’ll get over it I’m sure.

Well, we had the super duper yard sale over the weekend and it was a booming success.  We were up on Friday morning at 4am setting up tables and dragging, box after box out of the house, I thought it would never end.  It took 2-3 hours for us to get it completely set up the way we wanted.  We had 4 long tables, 7 card tables, a big piece of plywood for shoes, two big clothes racks, two smaller clothes racks and multiple boxes with misc. items along with the furniture!  We had so much stuff it was overwhelming.

The business was brisk most of the day, my mother came and brought more card tables which we used, plus some change we desperately needed, she also did a little shopping.  We closed shop around 4:30 in the afternoon, I think we sold more than 1/2 of what we had on Friday.  On Saturday Kim and Tammy wanted to go for a run, not me, I wasn’t in the mood, so they ran at 4:30 until about 5:15 or so and we started setting up the sale again, but we put more effort into setting up items like a store and it looked much better, the day started out slower and at noon we put out signs, 1/2 price for the remainder of the day, that worked out well.

Everyone made money and I think everyone was happy, but tired, especially me and Tammy, Kim left at noon so her and Josh could get to the Lake.  We decided to shut down at 3pm, it took us until 4:30 to get everything put away and make my driveway look like a driveway again, we were pooped.

Tammy and I were planning on running our long run on Sunday and picked out an 8 mile run from the Capitol, well, when we woke at 6am on Sunday, pouring down rain and it pretty much rained all day, I made coffee and read the paper.  It was a good day to stay in, I did venture out later in the day to Sam’s and Target.

Monday was Memorial Day and I had one more free pass to the NLR Athletic Club, Tammy said they were having one class and I should come after our run, I was hesitant after the Mix it up class only a week ago, but why not, it’s not like I had to go to work or anything!  So we did our run and then headed to the class, warm up was run one lap, one lap of lunges, run one lap BACKWARDS, one lap of BACKWARDS lunges, holy crap, I think that’s why my calves are so sore.  Then they set up these relays on the basketball court, I think there must have been about 40 people in the class, it was a little crazy, but a great workout, I kept looking at my Polar and my HR was in the 170’s most of the class.  OH, and I forgot about this warm up diddy, 2 jumping jacks 2 push ups 2 stair steps (24 inches at least) we started at 2 then 4, then 6 up to 20, I don’t even want to add that up.  Toward the end when we were completely exhausted from the relays they had us do 24 lunges, 24 jumping lunges and 12 jumping squats, it was CRAZY!!

We then headed to Starbucks, could be one of my last trips for a while, thank goodness for yard sale money!  The coffee was excellent!  We tried to go to Savers, but it was packed so we just headed home.

Yesterday I headed to the Unemployment office, first I got in my run and was happy to have Tammy come run with me because she got canceled at work (again).  What a fiasco that little adventure was, first I looked online to get the address, Main Street, Little Rock, okay not too far.  Got there about 10:15 and there weren’t many cars in the parking lot, yeah for me, uh oh, doors locked and a sign on the door, they had moved to South University in the old Haverty’s building, well shit, I guess I’ll drive over there.  Well, I was thinking the building was at 12th and University, but no, it was WAY down University and the parking lot was full, people parked out on University, I had to wait for someone to pull out before I could park, it was 10:45.

I walked in and there was a line all the way to the back wall, holy cow!  But the lady up front pointed me to a computer room.  I thought I was being smart and printed out the Unemployment form at home and filled it all out nice and neat so I wouldn’t have to do it there, HA!  As I was standing in the computer room wondering what to do next, looking for anyone who might work there, all these people were bent over the computers filling out something.  Finally this lady just walks by, she has a badge on, “excuse me, do you work here?” she replies “uh huh” and keeps walking.  Oh boy, this is going to be fun.  In a minute or two another one comes by and she sits me down in front of a computer, but I pull out my neatly filled out application and she said no we don’t take that and walks off and I’m left just sitting in front of the computer.  I’m staring at it and wondering, do I start, do I wait?  WTF??  So after a minute or two I see that it’s exactly the same crap I was looking out at home and the EXACT same form, this is BS.  I start filling out the stupid form I had already filled out and the lady starts walking by and I stop her “excuse me, but this is the exact form” she replies “NO, you go to the bottom and read and then click NEXT” and she wasn’t nice about it at all, I said “you did not tell me what to do when you plopped me down or I would have known”.

It took maybe 15 minutes to fill out the form, at the end it says Print the form, but I have no idea if there is a printer in there or anything so I raise my hand until I think my arm is going to fall off, I finally got up and asked some dude and he confirmed it would print.  After that I sat back down at my computer and waited, and waited some more, got out my magazine, wrote out my running goals.  Finally the lady comes back and says “I’ll be right back”, oh no not again, another 15 minutes comes by and she brings me a form to fill out that I could hardly read it had been copied so many times, filled it out and you can guess what happened, waiting, waiting, arm up, no use.  I finally get pardoned to the big waiting room where she says “an interviewer will call you”.

As I’m sitting out there with about 40 other people I know I’m going to be there for awhile and wished I had brought a book as Kim suggested instead of the magazine.  People are rude, loud mouthed, cussing, I heard this girl behind me say she had been there since 9am.  I finally get called back at 2:30PM and the interviewer was nice, but you could tell he had done this a million times and didn’t care about any of my questions or problems, I left at 3pm with a promise of my first payment around the middle of June, depressing, very depressing, I’m glad I don’t have to go back up there.

Last night was the first night of the Running Clinic in Cabot with Coach Dennis, I debated whether to go or not, it’s 30.00 a month and I really don’t need another bill right now and I may have to drop it after only 1 month, but we shall see.  Tammy and I left a little early so we could stop at Kroger and get some bargains and then headed to Cabot.   We were really early and just sat in the truck and talked and watched these two guys who were getting ready to run until Coach Dennis and everyone else got there.

Once the clinic got started Coach had a lot of information to tell everyone, especially for the new people, it took about 30 minutes, but we did get to run.  Tammy and I were sort of in the middle so we did a 10 minute warm up and then 5 x 1 minute intervals, run semi-hard for 1 minute, jog for 1 minute, we did that 5 times, I know we ran a little too fast on our fast runs, but it was all good in the end.  We did a cool down run back to our vehicle and ended up with 4 miles.

This morning Tammy came by and we ran our loop backwards, probably not the smartest move since we had just run about 12 hours earlier and my calves were still super sore.  Seems like the backwards route has more hills the the forward route!

Well, that’s all I have for now.  Looking for jobs and just getting through the days.  Oh, one more thing, Tammy and I watched The curious case of Benjamin Button, LOVED IT, but boohooed, I will definitely watch it again and may read the book.

3 Responses

  1. Oh Cheryl… what an ordeal. I am sorry. Truly. But you have a wonderful spirit, and I know that an even better job will come along soon.

  2. You are doing great with it all…you put in alot of work for that company, it is natural to feel the way you do. You can’t just turn off your feelings like a switch! Like any loss, you will have good and bad days, but you are already looking toward the future and having a great attitude about it. I’m not sure about having that extra “bill” either, with Dennis’ coaching fee, but when he asked us what we were willing to give up to keep the commitment to ourselves and our training, I realized I may have to sacrifice some of my Starbuck’s….I think it’s worth it….? Anyhoo, I’m going to try to buy some coffee and start making it at home. I can still go for my treat after a long run to reward myself!

  3. I’m right there with ya sister. Just got my stuff from EDD today.

    Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

