Jobs

Well, I’m still unemployed, this is the start of week 4, WOW almost a month and I finally received my debit card yesterday which holds a whopping $411.00 for unemployment, I hate that it’s on a stinking debit card, now I have to go to a specific bank, withdraw the money and then take it to my bank and deposit it so I can pay some bills.  You are probably thinking why do you have to go to a specific bank?  Bank fees, if I go to any other bank they charge like 2 bucks to withdraw money and at this point 2 bucks is too much.  I’m thankful for the money, but it is spent, every cent gone already.

I’m a little bummed, nothing is coming together, nothing.  I’ve applied for no less than 20 jobs, all of which I’m qualified, probably over-qualified with the exception of a job a Blue Cross Blue Shield of  Arkansas, which I was qualified for, just didn’t have the experience they were looking for, another story.  I’ve received 3 responses, you qualified and we will let you know within 3 weeks if you have been selected for an interview.

Another one, get this, on Craig’s List was for a Personal Assistant, sounded interesting enough, basic office crap, travel arrangements, setting up meetings, expenses reports, lots of errands, etc. $500 a week, I can do that right?  Well, this guy sends me an email and he lives in the UK and commutes back and forth, says I can work from home and he will send me assignments, blah, blah, I’m thinking, something is fishy, very fishy.  I’ve received a few emails from him with no specific “assignments”  just that I’m hired and to keep watch on my email.  Today he says he mailed me a check wants me to cash it at my bank then go to Western Union and wire funds to an Orphanage in Florida, lot more details were listed, huge email.  This just doesn’t sound right, so I sent an email to the Attorney General locally and am waiting on a reply, I think it’s a scam, lucky me.

My mother suggested I just take any job at the State and I could move up, that’s what she did, yeah, she worked there forever, like 25 years!! and still when she retired she was in a boring job not making squat.  She also suggested I apply with the Arkansas Lottery, good suggestion since they have not gotten up and running yet, but of course on the website “employment opportunities coming soon”.

Reached out to a few friends for odd jobs for some cash, yard work, painting, whatever, no takers.  Supposedly I’m going to be working with my brother-in-law this week, talked to him last week and he said “I’ll call you”, so still waiting and it’s Tuesday.

Not looking for sympathy, just putting down my thoughts, I’m not sure what’s going to happen with this job thing, there are lots of jobs out there, but most of them I am not going to do, not yet anyway, not going to be bored out of my mind or starting from scratch to wait 20 years to make something of myself, I already did that.  I know I can’t start at the top, but the middle would be nice.  I just want an interesting job.

Oh, and I’m not getting much done around here, you would think my house would be spotless and all those little to-do lists would get done, not really.  I don’t know what it is, but I don’t want to, I just don’t.  I generally make a list of things I need to get done every day and if I get them done, great, if not, oh well I’ll do them tomorrow, what else am I going to do?  It’s not like I have a job or anything.

At least I haven’t falling into the sleeping my life away trap, still going to bed around 10pm and getting up around 5:30am sometimes 6am.  Getting my running in, going to the Community Center on Monday and Wednesday nights, mowing the yard, woohoo, it’s so exciting!

Well, I’m sure I’ve bored you silly by now so I’m off to look for a job, internet beware!  Maybe my next post will be a little lighter!

Oh, I am Marathon Training, sort of, Bass Pro in Springfield, MO, November 1st or 2nd, 2009.

4 Responses

  1. Oh, you are reading my mail. This is happening to me all the time, and it’s insanely difficult! People don’t realize how hard it is.

    And another thing…you keep talking about this, and do NOT be ashamed that your blog isn’t chipper. You will survive, and you are HELPING ME!!!!

    I’m on Twitter @MSV1959 if you want to follow. I talk about it every day there.

    Linda

  2. I feel like I’m reading my life story, Cheryl. Very tough out there. 4 months and counting for me. Definitely agree with you on the scam. Somethings not right there.

    FYI – in MD, we have a debit card system as well, issued by Chase, but I am able to have my benefits wired to my checking account from the debit card account. The day after the wire hits the debit card, it hits my bank. Worth checking out.

    Keep your head up, Cheryl.

  3. Hi, Cheryl. I just happened to stumble across your blog and thought I’d stick around to read your post since I’m a fellow Arkansan. I know how hard it is out there right now, with many of my friends and family in the same boat.

    I am a freelance writer and luckily I haven’t been affected much by the economy, because I really do all my work from home. (BTW, the check cashing thing is a HUGE scam that’s prevalent right now. You did the right thing reporting it.)

    Anyway, have you considered taking work as a writer? You seem to be very articulate and I think you could do well. I work for a company called Demand Studios. They are currently hiring (Just Google it and check out all the info) and they are not a scam. I’ve been with them for nearly a year and they provide really steady work for when I’m between writing clients.

    You’ll need writing samples for the application process, but you can always create a few just for them. I highly recommend it. They pay well and promptly on a weekly basis and I know they need more writers right now.

    I really feel for you and genuinely thought this might give you a new avenue to explore, anyway. If you’re skeptical, seriously just search for Demand Studios and you’ll find tons of blogs written by people singing their praises. Or, check out the forums at WAHM.com and you’ll find a ton of info on them, as well as numerous other places that web/freelance writers can get started.

    I know you’re probably wary because of the whole check cashing thing, but you can literally talk to hundreds of freelancers who work with Demand. (There are around 2,000 writers, film makers, and copy editors who contract with them now.) They’ve been in the media a lot lately, too. Their parent company, Demand Media, owns eHow, Trails.com, and many other sites.

    Good luck to you, and I hope everything works out!

  4. Cheryl,
    So sorry to hear about your job situation. My husband just went back to work after being off for 3 months. I agree, the debit card thing is a pain.

    Not sure what kind of job you are looking for, but have you looked at USAJOBS.com, it has federal job listings. I work for the Corps of Engineers and know they are doing a lot of hiring.

Leave a Reply

