No Choice

Yesterday was 2 months to the day of my big “lay off” and what happens?  I get a phone call from my former supervisor telling me that the VP wants to talk to me about a possible position in the LR branch office, she was not certain of the details but wanted me to call the VP on her cell phone to get the info.

I called said VP and got her voice mail, meanwhile I called around trying to find out what was going on in the LR office, it was the office I last converted to the company’s new software before my lay off on May 21 and I knew the people in the branch pretty well after training them all for 2 weeks.  I found out nothing.

When I got the call later in the day she was all bubbly and said they were in dire need of someone to train and help out in the office on a temporary basis, BUT it could lead to say a Staffing position (no thank you) or something else.  I am definitely not interested in a Coordinator position and I know the pay is not that great.  But for now as a temporary employee I would get the same rate of pay as when I left, but in an hourly wage instead of salary, woohoo on that, I guess they won’t be working me like a dog.

Here’s the thing, I don’t really want to work for them again, I don’t like the way I was singled out to be laid off, no sense of loyalty, I was working my ass off for them 12 to 16 hours a day, some Sundays, with no compensation and then “don’t take it personally”, well I did and still do.  But I can’t refuse the job, if I do I will lose my unemployment benefits, there, no choice.  I either work for them and make the best of it or not work for them and have no income.  So, you can see my dilemma.  It kept me awake for most of the night.  I’m back on the Lexapro!

They want me to start tomorrow, I haven’t heard anything yet, but I’m sure I will have to adjust my running times.  I’m hoping I can go in at 8:30 instead of 8:00.

Running – Ran early Monday before I had to leave and meet my brother-in-law to help him with putting a liner in a pool in Maumelle, we got soaked in an unexpected Thundershower, but we stayed cool!

Last night the running clinic was canceled due to the massive amounts of rain we received yesterday so I just made it my rest day, I was all bummed out about the work thing anyway.  I know I should feel happy to have a job, but I do not miss the stress that came with that company!  Maybe it will be different this time, but I know I’m walking into a chaotic situation, they have 2 of their main employees out on unexpected medical leave that leaves a fairly new Branch Manager a new gal and a temp, then me.  Oh boy.

I tried to sleep in since I couldn’t go to sleep at all last night and when I did sleep the dreams were of work!  Which I haven’t even started yet!!  But, Smokey was insistent I get up and feed him, so up and Adam!  It was nice and cool to start my run I decided to add a little extra on today since it was so nice and looped around the lake before heading for the 5 mile loop.  Since I left a little late the traffic was a little heavier, but not too bad.  I ended up with 5.84 miles with an average pace of 10:08.

I haven’t told Stephanie yet, she will have to continue her new running career without me, she can do it, but not sure if she will stick to it.  She will be here this afternoon for her last run with her Mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

