The Heat is Back!

Last night was a little uncomfortable at our weekly running clinic, it’s never cool, but last night was the first night in a while that I can say, uh, it was hot.  We were lucky to have such a wet and cool July and we got a little spoiled, 65 degree morning runs were not uncommon, those days are gone.  August has reared it’s hot head!

I was working yesterday and had to drive from West Little Rock to Cabot, not a short drive at all, I had an hour and it took me about 40-45 minutes to get there.  Tammy was already at the track running her warm up laps so I decided to do the same, get it over with and get out of there early.

Only got in about 3/4 of a mile before the 6:00pm start time and Coach Dennis had a really good discussion about Lactate Threshold and why we need to run in that threshold and not go over, it was very interesting and I always learn something.  I almost backed out of going this month, but once I got out there I was glad I did.

Our workout was tough, at the end we were running 200’s at Interval pace and Coach Dennis asked us if we could run more, maybe 1 or 2 more, but that’s about it!

I’m amazed at how hard people run and sweat!  Leah T, our Superstar was at the clinic and was running 400s in 77 seconds, 83 seconds, 90 seconds, is that possible? me 2:14, she laps me.  When we were finished she was sitting on the ground wringing her socks out, they were soaked with sweat, OMG, I could never run that hard, my heart would explode.  Yes, she is an elite athlete with years of experience, me just an old fart with 3 years.  Oh well, still amazed.

Rest day today, Cardio class tonight.

Leave a Reply

