Crappy week

I’m just blah, it was just a crappy week.  The boss was out-of-town all week and everyone at the office was doing nothing, I was “supposed” to be in charge, but they just blew me off and that pissed me off.  Stupid people.

Running was good for the most part, first part of the week it was rainy and humid, but by the end of the week less humid and a little cooler.

Went to the doctor about my back pain when I run, nada, he didn’t know what it was either, this was the neurologist and he wants me to have a full body bone scan, I have COBRA insurance which will pay 80%, but I haven’t met my $1000 deductible yet, UGH, so have the scan or not have the scan?  I think it may be a waste of time and money.

My Aunt was diagnosed with eye cancer, I won’t go into all the details, but she had a spot on her eye for years and it developed into cancer.  She’s my fav and it really has me down in the dumps.

I have a marathon to run in 5 weeks, OMG!  Are you kidding me!  Holy Cow!!  I don’t know if I can do it, seriously.  Saturday Tammy and I decided to tackle our first of two 20-milers on our marathon schedule.  It was not easy by any means, but no one cried, got run over or lost a limb, so it was a success.

The daunting 20 miler started with a 2 page route sheet, 2 PAGES, I think we ran part of every course we have ever run in both Little Rock and North Little Rock.  Well, not really, but it was damned close!  Arts Center, Governor’s Mansion, Central High, Capitol, Kavanaugh, Riverfront, Titus Trail, Broadway Bridge, Downtown North Little Rock,  River Trail, River Market, Clinton Library, all the sights.

If I don’t tell this funny Tammy will kill me – We stopped at LaQunita for a bathroom break early on, probably 3 or 4 miles in, I really didn’t HAVE to go, but knew I would not have another chance until around mile 10 or so.  I went in, quick break and back out, adjusting my shirt, skirt and panties, mind you it’s right around 6am and I say outloud – “at least my panties aren’t wet ” and there was this guy sitting right there on the curb using his phone, I did not see him until I had already stuck my foot in my mouth.  I can just imagine what he thought.  It was funny and we laughed about it on and off all day.  “at least my panties aren’t wet”  HAHA.  Okay in case you DON’T know, it’s usually really hot and my panties are usually soaked with sweat, but it was cool on Saturday morning and it was still early, hadn’t had time to sweat them through yet 🙂  It’s a pain to try and get them situated once you pull them down if they are wet!

Our run was 20 miles, I can’t say it was bad and I can’t say it was good, it was 20 miles.  3 hours 38 minutes and 20 seconds of running.  We were tired, achy, bitchy, hungry, sweaty and anything else you want to add to that list.  The last couple of miles really sucked.  I think it really hurt us that we ran 18 like a month ago and since then it’s been 16, 14, 16…. or something like that.  Who knows, 20 sucks no matter when you do it.  But we did it, it’s over, I just don’t know how the hell I’m going to run 26 miles in 5 weeks.  Shit.

3 Responses

  1. Race day magic will pull you through 26 miles. I completely get tired, achy, bitchy, hungry, sweaty … that’s exactly how I felt.

  2. I’m so sorry about your aunt. 😦 And…race day will soon be upon you too…bittersweet, all.

  3. I like your blog! Chanced upon this place randomly and read a bit here and there. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

