Why I love running in the Winter

My water stays cold.  That’s it.  No other reason, there is no other reason to love running in the winter, it right out sucks.  I can’t even keep my blog updated because it’s too damned cold in my computer room to type for any length of time!

Yes, as you all know, I hate winter, period.  So far it has been cold and windy, no running in sleet or snow yet, but I’m sure it’s only a matter of time, it is only December and the unseasonably cold temps are making me a very grouchy runner.

Monday this week was our rest day, but I decided to take my friend Sheryl up on an invite to her boot camp on Monday night.  It was outside, need I say more?  It was great nonetheless, I really enjoyed it and wished I could afford it, I would certainly sign up, it’s right up my alley!

Tuesday, rained out, fine by me, a complete rest day, no running or boot camps.  Wednesday, oh HOLY WIND!  It was really windy Tuesday night, but Wednesday morning, OH MY!  I opened the door and it sounded like there was a semi in my driveway, nope, it was the wind gusting up to 30mph and temperature around 30.  Kim and I ran a little over 5.5 miles that morning, I really have no idea how we did it, I was so miserable I can’t even explain it.  We bitched and complained for the entire hour, and we are good at it, Winter has that effect on both of us, especially in the wind!

Thursday once that nasty front went through it dropped the temps about 10 degrees, it was 22 when we headed out at 5am, but let me tell you, I think the wind was worse!  We froze our butts off though, we did our customary bitch session, but trudged along for another 5.5 mile run.  We made a pit stop at Kroger, we didn’t want to leave the building it was so nice and toasty outside.  We did get a comment from some guy about “you girls are dedicated” or something like that, to which I replied, “No, we just forgot our signs this morning that say ‘Yes, we’re nuts'”.

Friday it was just as cold so we tucked our tails and stayed inside, there is only so much two warm weather girls can take, and we couldn’t take another cold run.

Saturday we lucked out.  We were meeting the Little Rock Marathon Training Group at the Capitol for our 14 mile run, rain was forecast, but the temperature was up in the mid-30’s!  A heat wave and no rain!  It was a tough route for the first 7 miles, pretty much all uphill.  The route goes up Markham, up Kavanaugh, up and down a bunch of hills in the neighborhoods North of Kavanaugh and then it’s 7 miles back down, the best part!

The miles ticked off pretty quickly, we got lost, we always do on this route, we actually sent people the wrong way, oops, sorry…. It’s just so confusing in this one section, Rockwood, Beltwood, Greenwood, ugh, no matter, we found our way back onto the route, made a pit stop at Starbuck’s, no not for Hot Cocoa, which would have been nice because the wind had started picking up on the downhill, and we were close to done.  I love the “on the way back” part, I imagine us in each little section, zooming by, well we weren’t zooming, but you get the picture.

After a little stretching we headed to our day of shopping, Kim and both had our lists prepared and nothing was going to get in our way, and it didn’t!  We got a few things knocked out right away, Hallmark, Tuesday Morning, Target, Sam’s then over to Kohl’s where we hooked up with our injured partner in crime, Tambo.  We got lots of great bargains and headed to our favorite store Target, or it was once our favorite store, it’s been a little disappointing lately, we always loved the clearance items, but there hasn’t been hardly any lately, What’s up Target??  Then we headed to the dreaded MALL, oh it wasn’t so bad, Dillard’s for a return, then Bath & Body, Kim and I were about done, literally, shopping and tired.  We said our goodbyes to Tammy and headed home.  What a day, almost 12 hours on our feet, I was beat! and ready for a nap and food!!

Today we were going to run 7 miles and we almost made it, we got in about 6.5 and called it good, we actually ran an extra loop around the lake in the beginning because we knew we would not want to do it at the end and so the 6.5 instead of 7 :).  It was a lot warmer this morning, 44, but misty, fine with me, at least it wasn’t 20! makes all the difference in the world.

I hope to keep up with my blog, but it  really does depend on how cold it is, I go for days without even turning on my computer!  When I get home from the hell hole I call work, I’ll just get my warmest jammies on, get a blanket and curl up and wait for spring!

One Response

  1. I don’t like that your water stays cold…remember last year when I had my “episode” where my hands were almost totally frozen and I tried to warm them up in your sink, but the water would NOT get warm…then fast forward to the light-headed feeling and almost passing out from low blood sugar and Kim had to feed me? ALL because of your dang cold water….

    just kidding…hilarious….

Leave a Reply

