New Year – Looking Forward

Hope everyone is bundled up and enjoying the first day of the new year.  I am certainly glad 2009 is behind us, it was not a great year even though some good things happened along the way.

  • First few months of 2009 – traveling, constantly!  But saw some places I wouldn’t otherwise been able to see and some places I would rather forget, driving to LaGuardia airport for one!  Beautiful Macon, GA during the Cherry Blossom festival, who knew??  Fun.
  • Laid off from work May 21, 2009 after 8 years of working my ass off and dedicating more than my share of time to a company who just tossed me aside without a second thought.
  • Ran my first 200 mile relay, The American Odyssey Relay from Gettysburg, PA to Washington, DC in April, that was fun and an adventure!  Made lots of new friends.
  • Applied for tons of jobs, but only two interviews in 2 months, both of which I was passed over, lots of others where I was never even considered.  I was eventually called  back to work as a HR/Payroll person on July 21, hated it, and still do!  But now I’m doing Recruiting too, more work and less pay, lucky me.  Yeah, yeah, I know, I have a job.
  • Nice running weather over the summer, loved it, every drop of sweat, or bucket of sweat however you want to look at it.
  • Lots of nice long training runs with Kim and Tammy for the Bass Pro Marathon which we ran on November 1, 2009.  About killed me, but I’m glad we got to run and train together.
  • WINTER – SUCKS – mild summer = COLD ASS WINTER
  • Ran the Ft. Lauderdale 13.1 Marathon with my friend Eric, his first ever race and loved it!  The weather was out of this world, considering it was November 15 and I was wearing shorts and a tank for the race!  That was tons of fun.
  • Came home to a sonogram on my coffee table, I’m going to be a Grandma, wow, that sounds old, very old.  But, I’m warming up to the prospect and have started buying diapers.
  • Tammy has been sidelined since the November marathon and Kim has been running with me in the mornings, we have a constant bitch fest about the weather, cold, windy, sucks, hate it, sucks, windy, cold, hate it, sucks, you get the picture.
  • Training for the Little Rock Marathon March 7, 2010, if my feet don’t start feeling better it may be my last.  There is talk about another Relay though, possibly October in Vegas, I’m hoping Kim, Tammy and Eric will go, wow, that would be so much fun.
  • Thanksgiving and Christmas were great and I am ready to get back to normal, it’s a new day today.

The end of 2009, gone for good, nothing but looking forward, hoping I can deal better with work, hoping my body parts doing fall apart while training for the Marathon and hoping all goes well with the upcoming grandchild.

Well I did run today the first day of the year, froze my ass off, but what’s new?  It was a solo run so I finally headed out around 7:15ish, 29 degrees, doesn’t sound that cold, but for some reason I was chilled until about 4.5 miles in and then I was warming up, stupid cold wind.  I actually stopped, squatted down and put my hands under my legs to warm them up, my extremities do not do well below freezing, my fingers were actually hurting from the cold, why is that?  I had nice thick gloves on, actually on my right hand I had a glove, on my left hand I had a thin glove and a mitten on over that, still freezing hands, I’m checking into hand warmers, it was miserable.

I ran almost 6 miles and was so glad to get home into the warmth, have no desire to get back out there.  Why do people like winter?  I don’t get it.  I have a huge list of to-dos for today, I’m such a procrastinator in the winter, I guess if I would turn my thermostat above 60 degrees I might get motivated to get out from under the blanket and off the couch!

Tomorrow will be an 8 mile run at the ADEQ and then Sunday 16 miles, but not sure of the location, haven’t received the  super special Crackhead email yet, but I’m sure it won’t matter, the only thing that matters to me is making sure I’m dressed just right, not to warm, but definitely not too cold, hopefully I will have handwarmers for the rest of my runs.

Okay, up and out of this chair and on to the to-do list, ugh, can I get a helper please?  I need some organization help, there are a few piles of “stuff” I must declutter today.  Wishing myself good luck.  Hope everyone has a Happy New Year Day and hope that 2010 will be a better year for everyone!

2 Responses

  1. Okay…I don’t know who is having all this “talk” about a relay in Vegas..but first time I’m hearing about it! I guess that’s what I get for not running for 2 months…

Leave a Reply

