There are good runs and….

Let’s start on a welcome note – Temperatures ABOVE freezing, YIPPEE!!  It’s been nice not being absolutely frozen after running this week, I was to the point of giving it up at one point, the cold was really getting to me!

Some good runs during the week, since my hours were cut at work I have a little extra time in the morning so we took advantage of it on Thursday and ran about 6.5 miles instead of our normal 5.5 miles, it was nice.

Friday I ran solo, Kim was completing an exam for Funeral Directing, I’m sure she did great, but she is hard on herself.  Got in 5 miles before I had to head to the place I hate.

Right now it’s about 60 degrees and I just saw a runner go by my window in shorts and a t-shirt, love it!

Yesterday was a treat for me and Kim.  Tambo our injured partner in running has been out since November and she was doing her first “I’m back” run with us and the Little Rock Marathon Training Group!  Our meet spot this week was the Capitol, scheduled route for us 8 miles, Tammy 4 miles.  It was great to have her back with us asking a million questions 🙂  We have missed her.  Kim and I bitch and complain about the same ole crap all the time, it’s nice to have someone else to listen to!

We were able to run with Tammy for about the first 3 miles before her route had her turning off.  We couldn’t have asked for a better running day, temperature was about 46, a little windy, but comfortable.  Kim and I trudged on after Tammy’s departure.

We made a pit stop at the State Capitol around mile 6, I of course HAD to go.  I did not realize there were bathrooms available, but thanks to Tom and Hobbit I am now a regular customer.  Kim and I had no idea where the bathroom was so I stuck my head in the Police office right inside the door and he told me “down the hall and to the left through the metal detector”.  Hmmm, how do they know we are actually going through the metal detector?  one side is completely open and the metal detector just looks like a doorway with no door an in and an out.

We went through the metal detector and thank goodness the alarms did not sound and all of a sudden we are in the rotunda of the Capitol, we are looking up and around, it’s really beautiful, I haven’t been there since I was a child!  All of a sudden we both hear “Ma’am, Ma’m” we are looking up and around, where the hell is that coming from, no one is in there, it’s Saturday morning about 7am, is it God talking to us?  There were these huge marble pillars and behind one of them is a window with a cop sitting inside, saying “Ma’am, Ma’am”.  We were stunned and the police officer was just trying to point us in the right direction.  It was hilarious.

We finally make it down the hall and find the restroom which is humongous, sitting area, stool and mirror, 3 or 4 stalls.  My kind of bathroom.  We take care of everything that needs taking care of, strip off clothes, rearrange and head back out.  We were only 2 miles from being finished.  We ended up with about 8.5 miles.

Today, totally different story, same pit stop, but my oh my the run was not what you would call a good run.  First of all it was raining when we started out, so that meant rain gear, and wind, it was VERY windy today, temps still good, mid 40’s, but with the rain gear we were a little warm, I love saying that, we were WARM!!

On Sunday there aren’t near as many people as on Saturday, yesterday it looked like well over 100, today 8-10, something like that.  Well, right out of the gate Kim and I miss Center Street, we are almost in the River Market when we realize, HEY we missed our street and had to turn around.  Oh, well, we both wanted a little more mileage anyway.

It was just tough today, not sure why, seemed like the hills or the incline on some of the streets where just not working with us today.  And that nasty wind, UGH!!  We did make the same pit stop today as yesterday, State Capitol, it was like a freaking sauna in that place though!  My tax dollars at work, at least I have a bathroom to use!

We were all sweaty when we left and then the wind hit us, now we were cold.  It didn’t take long to warm up though, now is the tough part, going up Markham past the Deaf School and then Kavanaugh, more hills.  Around mile 10 I was really tired, we made it over to Riverfront and I was just wanting it to be over with, that is the worst section of road, mentally it is just boring, it’s part of the Marathon course and every time I run it I hate it even more.

We finally get off that piece of shingle and start heading downtown, our destination in sight.  I look at our route and I realize we have to go left, AWAY from the Capitol, that’s always tough, especially at the end, you think you are almost done when you realize, OH NO we are running AWAY from the finish not toward it.  We almost made an executive decision to cut over to Capitol Avenue from Cross Street, but we didn’t we are disciplined runners and did the route as prescribed.

We finally made it to Capitol Avenue, Finish in sight!  Why is it that when you can see the finish it seems to take forever to get there?  Hmmm.  As we get the parking lot in view I can hear a horn honk, and then again, a little toot toot, Hobbit 🙂 waiting on us.  We were last ones back, again.  I hate that they wait on us on Sunday’s we could call when we get back, but she insists!  What a good Coach she and Tom both are!

We should have some good running weather this week too, 40-50’s.  Today was just not our day, I guess we should just be thankful we were able to get out there and run.

But, we did find some great bargains at Target AND I got a free coffee at Starbuck’s so the day was not lost.

2 Responses

  1. Hilarious….looking forward to Rhaling this weekend! Hopefully it won’t be raining, it looks like a wet week ahead!

  2. Sounds like a good run, well the first one was good.

Leave a Reply

