Expectations

In my mind I always have this idea about my run, how great it’s going to be.  I can see it, starting out slow, birds are singing,  picking up the pace around the lake, saying good morning to all the ducks and geese, taking a quick water break by the stone gate, making my last hill,  finishing my morning run with a smile on my face and not a care in the world.  BS!  That never ever happens, EVER!

My expectations are so high for myself and I get so disappointed after about half a mile as was the case yesterday.  I had planned on 3 miles, pitiful I know, but I have to start back somewhere, right?  To start out it was warm, a nice 76 degrees with 90% humidity.  I knew as soon as I started running it was not going to be a great run, my back was hurting already.  Whatever I did to it over the weekend is still there.  But I trudge on at a terribly slow pace.  Make it down to the lake, I had to walk a couple of times already because this pain is shooting down my leg!  DAMN IT!  But I keep thinking oh, it will get better in a bit and it sort of did, but it never was not there.  Then the stomach starts talking, geez, cannot I not get one decent run in?  It’s very disheartening when every run SUCKS!!  Makes me not want to run at all.  It all started with my stupid foot in December and I’m still paying for it.

So, I knew I better head home since the bathroom was not open at the lake.  I only got in 2.5 miles, what a waste of a morning.  Oh well, I will try again on Wednesday and I will have an expectation of hearing the birds sing and my feet will be light as air, blah, blah, blah.

My only saving grace for the day was Insanity last night with Tammy, we did Pure Cardio and Cardio Abs.  We almost made it through the entire Pure Cardio without stopping, but I’m not sure we ever will, it is INTENSE!  I can tell we are getting better just by how many breaks we have to take or not take!  Not sure what she told me we were doing tonight, but whatever it is you can bet we will be drenched with sweat and ready for our rest day tomorrow!

Okay, I gotta go to work.

 

One Response

  1. Cheryl.. almost every run for months except for the 50K in Maine have SUCKED for me too!!
    I only advice I can give is to try not to have such high expectations and appreciate whatever kind of run you have. I have kicked myself so many times because of how awful a run was but lately have decided to just go with the flow and forgive myself if I suck!!!

Leave a Reply

